Generator - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-16-2010, 10:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator


Ok, so I moved into a house with a transfer switch with a 220 V plug sticking out of it. I have a Honda EU2000 generator with only 110 V recepticals. How can I make this work? And yes, I tallied up all the wattages and they are fairly minimal as most items are gas.

Thanks
heathkiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2010, 11:02 AM   #2
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 77
Default


get another eu2000 and a parallel kit.
SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2010, 11:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I wish that I could afford that. I should add that I have no 220V appliances in the home.
heathkiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2010, 11:38 AM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


No 220 appliances at all? Not even dryer or stove? If that's the case you could always change the plug to a 120v one, though I don't know how you'd make it feed both legs.

Might be easier to get a generator with the proper 240v twistlock plug.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 11:50 AM   #5
And Still Learning
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WAR EAGLE
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Your house is wired for 220v. This means you have two hot leads feeding your main breaker. From there you have two 110v feed bars in your breaker box. You could use a jumper if the power was out, but this would/could be risky. with only a eu2000 you would only be running one blower motor for heat or refrig and a few low power lights. I would get a 4-5000 watt generator with 220 and make good use of that expensive transfer switch.
No 220 volts,,,what do you cool the house with. W/U's?
Lucky you, my house only has one 220 volt breaker for the central air. Propane is the way to go !!

Last edited by Know It ALL; 11-16-2010 at 11:52 AM.
Know It ALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


No dryer, and we have natural gas. I live in Alaska, so no A/C! Why would using a jumper be risky?
heathkiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 01:17 PM   #7
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by heathkiks View Post
No dryer, and we have natural gas. I live in Alaska, so no A/C! Why would using a jumper be risky?
If you forget to remove the jumper and turn the mains back on, you'd have a 240v short, protected by your main breaker. In other words, 4th of july.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 01:29 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Gotcha. I figured that was the reason, just wondering if there was another concern. I will probably just put the critical items on one leg in the breaker box, wire a 110 plug and call it good. I can't justify having two generators. I don't use the one enough as it is.

Thanks for the replies
heathkiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 01:32 PM   #9
Craftsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default


You can feed the generator side of your two pole transfer switch with the hot from your generator (jumper together) and have 120 volts on both legs then when switched back to power co. it will have 120/240.
Superrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 01:44 PM   #10
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 77
Default


probably a good bet to put essential circuits on the same leg, I think distributing 120 to both bus bars runs the risk of a neutral overload, perhaps one of the electricians on here can voice any concerns.
SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 02:49 PM   #11
And Still Learning
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WAR EAGLE
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I once helped an old old friend trouble shoot his home electrical problem. He had lost one of his underground hot legs due to being cheap and not purchasing underground service cable. The original complaint was no lights in part of the house. Then he said, "now the lights are back on but no water from the well". The well pump was acting as the jumper and when the well contacts closed it sent 110 volts to the other side of the bus bar. Maybe a little less than 110 due to the resistance of the well windings. He would up going with an overhead service. That $25 he saved 10 years ago when he wired the old house wound up costing him nearly $800. Yes, he's all gas too.
Know It ALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 02:52 PM   #12
Craftsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Use #12 guage cord to feed your transfer switch from the EU2000 and you will be fine feeding both legs. You will only get what the generator supplies (16 amps) total across both legs.
Superrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:36 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


An FYI... Running 110 up the 220 transfer switch for some reason translateds to 60 at all of switches
heathkiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:38 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


so, looping the 110 on both legs = 0?
heathkiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:39 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


electrician reply befor the house burns down... Thnks
heathkiks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a detached shed for AC power *and* generator backhaul wrooster Electrical 19 05-28-2010 11:59 AM
Need Help Honda EU 2000 generator wiring problem rickytz7111 Electrical 10 11-23-2009 09:18 PM
Generator with 2 transfer switches? Isaac-1 Electrical 4 03-16-2009 07:45 PM
Well Pump to Generator Question Sprice Electrical 1 02-11-2009 11:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts