Is It Generally Against Code To "split A Room"? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-26-2010, 07:43 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I know you mention older home that builted in 1930 but it may have a good chance you may snag into ballon frame house if that the case the exterior wall cavity will have straight shot all the way from the attic to basement still so if any chance if you have one or two cavity uninsluated then you can able snake in the new conductor in.


Merci.
Marc
+1 on the balloon framing. I had the same situation as the OP with the entire upstairs wired off of one circuit with the window AC's constantly competing with each other for current. I lucked out because my house is balloon framed. It was a relative piece of cake running 6 new lines all the way from the first floor to the attic. Completely open wall cavity from the foundation to the roof line.
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2010, 07:49 AM   #17
Coconut Pete's paella!
 
CoconutPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC / Denmark
Posts: 1,320
Rewards Points: 504
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseyguy1996 View Post
It was a relative piece of cake running 6 new lines all the way from the first floor to the attic. Completely open wall cavity from the foundation to the roof line.
My house is balloon framed, I verified this. did you do this in a front/back or side wall?

I'm going to try this tonight!
CoconutPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2010, 08:03 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by CoconutPete View Post
My house is balloon framed, I verified this. did you do this in a front/back or side wall?

I'm going to try this tonight!
It was a side wall which was the only difficult part. It was where the slope of the roof meets the wall so I was required to slide in on my belly to access an entry point in the attic. Bought an angle attachment for my drill to make the hole in the top of the wall because it was a very tight space. I can't remember the size hole that I drilled but it was large enough for 3 wires so 2 holes total. I dropped a nylon line down the hole with a weight attached too my dad who was waiting for it on the first floor next to the load center. I made a loop in the line and attached the wire and with his help we pulled the first one through. I left enough line so that even when he had pulled the wire to the bottom I still was able to pull the loop back up to the attic so that I could attach the next wire. It worked really well!
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2010, 08:13 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default


More on pulling the wire if you have never done it before. There still may be things in the wall that the wire can get stuck on as it travels down so this is what worked well for us after a few tries. We attached the wire to the loop by inserting the unstripped romex cable into the loop and then folding the entire wire over the loop (about an inch). I then took pliers and really crimped the bend in the wire as tight as I could to give it as small a profile as possible. I then fed the loop in the line and the crimped end of the wire into the hole and half fed and half guided the wire into the hole as my dad kept steady and firm tension on the line (just don't break the line by pulling too hard). This helped to keep the tip of the wire from accidently getting wedged on anything as it worked its way through the wall. Make sure you leave lots of extra wire both in the attic and next to your load center. I had my dad pull about an extra 5 feet of wire after it came out of the wall on the first floor. Don't risk coming up short.
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
couple of code questions ponch37300 Electrical 9 01-26-2009 10:45 AM
Code requirement to replace bathroom window. Rem8 Building & Construction 5 06-16-2008 02:57 PM
code question JustJoe Building & Construction 3 01-27-2007 09:06 AM
International building code and permits rforsha Building & Construction 4 08-28-2006 06:35 PM
1950's Roof Framing Strength KempLN Building & Construction 21 06-17-2006 10:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts