Gas Line For Ground - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 12-27-2014, 08:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
There are a bunch of outlets in a house with only a hot/nuetral. There is an old abandoned gas line from the 20's all over the ceiling in basement then punches out around 4 ft deep into soil. Can I use this to bond to, while running some bare #12 grounds to these outlets? It's a great ground, I did a test
Both you and I know that is at least several code violations.

Put in GFCI protection and call it good.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2014, 08:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 342
Rewards Points: 455
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
Both you and I know that is at least several code violations.

Put in GFCI protection and call it good.
I"m not worried about clearing faults, I need to get rid of static buildup on the highly sensitive electronic devices the guy is plugging in
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2014, 08:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
I"m not worried about clearing faults, I need to get rid of static buildup on the highly sensitive electronic devices the guy is plugging in
Whats wrong with running it back to the panel's ground bar?
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2014, 08:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 342
Rewards Points: 455
Default


too involved. basement, finished plaster lathe ceilings with spackle popcorn finish going in and out of 3 rooms with different elevations to get to it. He doesn't have much money therefore I don't have much time so...just trying to help an old veteran on a fixed budget
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 08:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
too involved. basement, finished plaster lathe ceilings with spackle popcorn finish going in and out of 3 rooms with different elevations to get to it. He doesn't have much money therefore I don't have much time so...just trying to help an old veteran on a fixed budget
First of all you know what you propose isn't even allowed or safe. A 4 foot gas line will not clear fault, and will not give surge protection and it definitely isn't helping him.

Install a GFCI outlet, and in terms of surge protection those strips still protect line to line.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:02 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


Can you bond the abandoned gas pipe to a grounding electrode ?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Can you bond the abandoned gas pipe to a grounding electrode ?
As long as the grounding electrode he is connecting to is also bonded back the service disconnect with a main bonding jumper he is ok.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 342
Rewards Points: 455
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Can you bond the abandoned gas pipe to a grounding electrode ?
Yes, very easily. Actually the old bond is still there pulled up and curled up. The main gas line passes right near the main panel. I already planned on clamping on a new water clamp and # 6 to main panel if I even attempted this.

Also, the system now won't clear a fault anyhow (other than melt the wire), he just wants to protect the electronics from static build up is all.
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Yes, very easily. Actually the old bond is still there pulled up and curled up. The main gas line passes right near the main panel. I already planned on clamping on a new water clamp and # 6 to main panel if I even attempted this.

Also, the system now won't clear a fault anyhow (other than melt the wire), he just wants to protect the electronics from static build up is all.
A properly sized EGC/GEC will never burn up regardless to what its connected to.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 07:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,917
Rewards Points: 3,438
Default


A gas pipe does not count as a grounding electrode. Gas plumbing should be grounded, several methods qualify. One method is connecting a gas pipe to the house grounding electrode system using #6 copper wire. Here the fat wire from the gas pipe is called a bonding jumper instead of a GEC.

But technically, metal plumbing that exits the house undeground and runs on for 20 feet and does not carry gas will qualify as a grounding electrode.

If you drive a ground rod or use the decommissioned pipe as a grounding electrode, you must bond it to the rest of the grounding electrode system using #6 copper (sometimes larger; I don't have the NEC table in front of me). Everything using the pipe as a grounding electrode has to be attached within 5' of where the pipe exits the house underground, or bonded to an existing GEC (not a bonding jumper or other equipment grounding conductor) instead of to the pipe itself.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really pours. Otherwise the storm might miss and the part that gets watered last (3 days away?) will dry up.

Last edited by AllanJ; 12-28-2014 at 07:25 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete blockage of main line mnp13 Plumbing 9 05-29-2012 10:51 AM
Adding a second line to existing septic line Eddietan Plumbing 3 05-10-2012 09:27 AM
Old water supply line a_lost_shadow Plumbing 7 04-19-2012 11:12 PM
Condensate Drain Line Mystery (pan full but no primary clog?) CarrieLP HVAC 21 04-04-2012 11:07 PM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 03:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts