Garage Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-31-2010, 11:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

garage wiring


Would it be up to code in the state of Colorado to use romex in a garage that has no drywall?

Last edited by jmc1981; 10-31-2010 at 01:47 PM.
jmc1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2010, 12:03 AM   #2
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Rewards Points: 150
Default


This doesn't answer your question, but it might be helpful:

http://www.familyhandyman.com/DIY-Pr...age-unfinished

RST
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RST For This Useful Post:
jmc1981 (11-01-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2010, 09:24 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


thanks I was pretty sure it had to be this way.
jmc1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2010, 09:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Run along a stud is usually OK
Drilling holes & running wiring between studs may not be OK
Must be protected from physical damage if the key
Inspectors sometimes see this in a different way
Might want to check with your local inspector 1st
I'd say tons of sheds are wired without sheetrock/wall covering & wiring exposed
Mine is & passed inspection



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 11:55 PM   #5
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,338
Rewards Points: 2,504
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmc1981 View Post
Would it be up to code in the state of Colorado to use romex in a garage that has no drywall?
JMC,
Best and easiest thing to do is call your local building department and just ask. Saves a lot of headaches. A lot of cities around by me want any romex covered with drywall on the wall areas.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 01:11 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmc1981 View Post
Would it be up to code in the state of Colorado to use romex in a garage that has no drywall?
One of few legit way is run the romex along the stud up and down way but not the horzontal runs it is not legit in most area when the garage wall is exposed.

Othewise the sleeved conduit will work for this purpose.

{ check the local office on latter part due some can allow and some don't }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring house to garage stonehaven Electrical 7 06-02-2010 07:19 PM
wiring code w.r.t. NEW folding stairs in garage attic fredsterl Electrical 4 09-26-2009 12:05 AM
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 01:04 PM
wiring garage clive Electrical 6 08-20-2008 01:36 PM
Wiring my garage with direct burial cable? Earl Smith Electrical 3 08-10-2008 07:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts