Garage Outlets. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-07-2009, 03:22 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

garage outlets.


I ran a subpanel out to my garage. I ran #6-3 wire. How big of a breaker can I tye this into? I was wondering how many outlets can I run of a 20amp circut. And how many 20amp circuts can I put in my subpanel?
Thanks for the help. This board is Great.
Jeff
J.Hemenway is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2009, 03:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


6-3 will be good for a 50a 240v subpanel
There isn't a restriction on the number of outlets or 20a breakers
But if you plug too much on 1 circuit the breaker will trip
Use too much power in the garage & the sub breaker will trip

If a detached garage you will need grounding rods
Sub will need neutrals & grounds on seperate bus & neutral not bonded to the case or the ground bus



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2009, 07:09 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Great. thanks. The garage is attached so I am grounded with the house right? Is there a rule of thumb to the outlets. I think that there is a circut that will have 7or 8 outlets. I just want to make sure I have enough outlets. I have a few wood working tools. Thanks again.
Thanks for your help
J.Hemenway is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2009, 07:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up


Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Hemenway View Post
Great. thanks. The garage is attached so I am grounded with the house right? Is there a rule of thumb to the outlets. I think that there is a circut that will have 7or 8 outlets. I just want to make sure I have enough outlets. I have a few wood working tools. Thanks again.
Thanks for your help
The first rule is, that in a garage (or basement and other unfinished areas) ALL outlets have to be GFCI protected. (that doesn't mean that you have to install GFCI receptacles at every point. It simply means that all outlets DOWNSTREAM from the first one will have GFCI protection.) (No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 08:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I'll have a few circuits in the garage
It's better to have the circuits spread out
So that you can access 2 different circuits in each area for multiple tools
Altho usually I'm only using one tool at a time



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
new double garage murray1426 Building & Construction 4 05-23-2009 01:11 PM
Garage ceiling and attic storage DIY KEN Building & Construction 7 01-06-2009 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts