Garage Door Opener Breaker And Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-21-2010, 10:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 97
Default

garage door opener breaker and outlet


i have to replace the garage door openers ( 20 yrs old) and am wondering if the current powering scheme is ok

there are two 1/3 HP openers with common 3-prong cords plugged into two separate 15A duplex outlets mounted on the garage ceiling (sheetrock). the outlets are being fed by surface-mounted romex connected to a 15A GFCI in one of the bathrooms. this circuit has only 5 outlets, 2 in baths, one on the outside wall and 2 in the garage for openers. the main-panel breaker is also 15A

1. is 15A ok?
2. any issue with the circuit being shared with bath outlets and the outside outlet?

thanks
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-21-2010, 10:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Bathrooms need a dedicated 20a GFCI circuit these days
Bathroom circuit can feed outlets in multiple bathrooms only
Garages require GFCI & it should not be fed by the bathroom



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2010, 03:28 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
i have to replace the garage door openers ( 20 yrs old) and am wondering if the current powering scheme is ok

there are two 1/3 HP openers with common 3-prong cords plugged into two separate 15A duplex outlets mounted on the garage ceiling (sheetrock). the outlets are being fed by surface-mounted romex connected to a 15A GFCI in one of the bathrooms. this circuit has only 5 outlets, 2 in baths, one on the outside wall and 2 in the garage for openers. the main-panel breaker is also 15A

1. is 15A ok?
2. any issue with the circuit being shared with bath outlets and the outside outlet?

thanks
That was legal in old code editon but per today codes requirement it is not legit at all.

So the only way you can do this is sepearted the bathroom circuit from the garage door opener circuit and also the outdoor receptale is no longer allowed to be on bathroom circuit.

I know in older codes they use one GFCI device to handle bathroom , garage , outdoor and some case kitchen circuits { I have see it once a while }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2010, 08:00 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Assuming the existing 15 amp circuit runs to the bathrooms first, you really need to string a new 20 amp circuit to the garage ceiling and outdoor receptacle and perhaps some additional garage receptacles, putting a GFCI unit in the first outlet box.

But until then you should be able to plug the new garage door openers into the existing, unmodified, receptacles on the garage ceiling.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2010)
Old 05-22-2010, 09:14 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 97
Default


yes, the 15A circuit's first stop is the bath outlet..... from there it goes to other outlets.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Assuming the existing 15 amp circuit runs to the bathrooms first, you really need to string a new 20 amp circuit to the garage ceiling and outdoor receptacle and perhaps some additional garage receptacles, putting a GFCI unit in the first outlet box.

But until then you should be able to plug the new garage door openers into the existing, unmodified, receptacles on the garage ceiling.
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 09:22 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 97
Default

must i modify?


so now i have to ask-- do i have to modify to comply with current codes or can i leave it the the way it is since it was compliant at the time of construction (1986)?

thanks all for your very helpful quick response.
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 11:59 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


If it hasn't been a problem all these years why are you changing it?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 04:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 97
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
If it hasn't been a problem all these years why are you changing it?
if your "changing" applies to wiring, i am not anxious to change....that is the question i am asking....

.....do i have to change ( because i am changing the opener)?

i am changing the opener because it is on its way out...(over 20yrs old)

thanks
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 04:58 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


No. You do not have to change the wiring because you are replacing the openers.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a 220 Volt Outlet in garage, what to do? gante Electrical 6 04-11-2010 10:53 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 02:44 PM
Outlet in garage quit working Thirdeye Electrical 10 07-01-2007 10:32 PM
Kitchen outlet breaker simma Electrical 3 02-28-2007 05:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts