Furnace Wire Into Liquid Tite - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By JimmyJones99
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-14-2019, 02:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Furnace wire into liquid tite


My furnace wire comes down a stud and through drywall and into the furnace. I need protection on the exposed part (4") where it comes out of the drywall. Can i run liquid tite from furnace into wall cavity and just strip a foot of sheathing off of the cable and run it into the liquid tite or do i need something else?
JimmyJones99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2019, 04:46 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
TarheelTerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 5,107
Rewards Points: 4,902
Default

Re: Furnace wire into liquid tite


Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyJones99 View Post
My furnace wire comes down a stud and through drywall
and into the furnace. I need protection on the exposed part (4") ...
You do?
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2019, 08:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4,080
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Re: Furnace wire into liquid tite


If this furnace is not within sight of your main breaker box, then hopefully there is a disconnect or electrical box mounted on the furnace that is being used as the furnace means of disconnect.

If NOT, then now is the opportunity to set a junction box(or disconnect) over that exposed Romex coming out of the wall and then run metal flexible conduit from it, in to the furnace.

Install the properly rated switch (or disconnect) for the furnace and then you have killed two birds with one stone.


If the furnace does have a means of disconnect on it and it is sitting within 4 inches of the wall, you could just attach something to the wall to protect it. And not have to go to the work of disconnecingt the furnace power wires while working them through a flex. JMO
__________________
...

Last edited by Gregsoldtruck79; 09-14-2019 at 08:13 AM.
Gregsoldtruck79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2019, 11:50 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Re: Furnace wire into liquid tite


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
You do?
Yes you can't have unprotected wire below 6' i believe it is.
JimmyJones99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 12:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Re: Furnace wire into liquid tite


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregsoldtruck79 View Post
If this furnace is not within sight of your main breaker box, then hopefully there is a disconnect or electrical box mounted on the furnace that is being used as the furnace means of disconnect.

If NOT, then now is the opportunity to set a junction box(or disconnect) over that exposed Romex coming out of the wall and then run metal flexible conduit from it, in to the furnace.

Install the properly rated switch (or disconnect) for the furnace and then you have killed two birds with one stone.


If the furnace does have a means of disconnect on it and it is sitting within 4 inches of the wall, you could just attach something to the wall to protect it. And not have to go to the work of disconnecingt the furnace power wires while working them through a flex. JMO
Yeah that makes a lot of sense, i suppose just a little ply box around it is acceptable.
JimmyJones99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 12:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4,080
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Re: Furnace wire into liquid tite


Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyJones99 View Post
Yeah that makes a lot of sense, i suppose just a little ply box around it is acceptable.

Does the furnace have a on/off main power switch on it ?

Or is it sitting within sight of the breaker box that has the breaker in it, that turns the furnace on or off ?

Or is there a disconnect that controls the furnace within sight, close by ?
__________________
...
Gregsoldtruck79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 12:50 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Re: Furnace wire into liquid tite


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregsoldtruck79 View Post
Does the furnace have a on/off main power switch on it ?

Or is it sitting within sight of the breaker box that has the breaker in it, that turns the furnace on or off ?

Or is there a disconnect that controls the furnace within sight, close by ?
Yeah it's about 4 feet away from main panel.
Gregsoldtruck79 likes this.
JimmyJones99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts