Furnace Outlet/switch Problem? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-12-2009, 02:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace outlet/switch problem?


I have a switch with outlet on furnace, the switch for power on furnace works. the outlet for humidifier,air cleaner does not any ideas?
cinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2009, 03:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Check your circuit breakers. Could be on a different circuit.

Try plugging something else in like a can opener from the kitchen. Does that work in the outlet?
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2009, 03:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


breakers fine put tester on outlet, nothing. outlet has white wire going to neutral. one black wire for humidifier, one for electic air cleaner going to main control. switch has black wire for power,one for furnace both hot!
cinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-12-2009, 06:58 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 38,074
Rewards Points: 2,930
Default


The EAC terminal of a furnace board. Is only energized when the blower is on.
The HUM terminal may be a 120 volt, or 24 volt terminal, depending on furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 09:51 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Arrow


furnace is trane american standard freedom 90 model #auc080c942b7. how can i check if control board is good? kinda lost right now!!
cinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:15 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 38,074
Rewards Points: 2,930
Default


Measure the voltage output of the terminals.
Install manual will tell you what voltage your HUM terminal is.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:22 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Go back and do what post #2 suggested with the can opener or similar.

Also re re read post #4 and make sure the blower is running when you try #2.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 05:44 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


have power when blower runs, found out humistat doesn't work unhooked wires and touched together and humidifier ran so maybe that is problem. next up is the electric air cleaner. no power to that when blower is running, now what??
cinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 06:46 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 38,074
Rewards Points: 2,930
Default


Did you check for voltage from the EAC terminal.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 07:14 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


For the electronic air cleaner, first read the owner's instruction manual. This should tell you about if it has a circuit breaker inside you could reset or a fuse you could replace. And about how to clean it.

If you don't have the owner's manual, you might be able to go to the manufacturer's web site and find one.

Then other than that, you should know how to use a voltmeter and know how to work on electronic equipment. There is probably high voltage present and you could easily shock yourself if you are not familiar with how these operate.

If you do understand electronics, you may be able to get a service manual from the manufacturer. This would explain the circuit design and show tests to check various components or at least have a schematic diagram.

Basically you need to understand how it works - how it should work - before you could test anything and determine if a component was doing what it should or not.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 06:40 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


can't seem to find manual. I'll have to check website it's an enviracaire elite F300 1019. I'll see what honeywell has to offer then go from there.
cinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:24 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default


Do you have a neutral? Do you have a hot?

Then what's the problem?

And they say electrical's easy
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 06:14 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


found out humidstat was bad, replaced with new unit and all is good. eliminated electronic aircleaner, replaced with paper filter with less headaches. thanks for all the help from everyone!!
cinders is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Old Silver-Line furnace problem avro1 HVAC 9 03-18-2010 12:01 AM
Strange Problem with My Furnace chenjijc HVAC 14 11-04-2009 09:05 PM
Carrier Furnace Problem Boats1183 HVAC 1 11-11-2008 06:41 PM
another question for a miller furnace problem jb9270 HVAC 1 02-05-2007 02:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts