From Flush-mount To Surface-mount - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By betelgeuse
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-30-2020, 07:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

From flush-mount to surface-mount


I have a flush-mounted (in-wall) quad receptacle box, in a commercial setting. I need to move the receptacles to a different location on the same wall, but for several reasons I don’t want to cut into the wall to establish a new, flush-mount location. My idea is to convert the current receptacle box to a junction box, then install one of those front covers with the knock-out in the center, and from there run a surface-mounted conduit to a new, surface-mounted receptacle box in the new location. Does the code allow me to do this?

Thank you for the help.
Rollie83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2020, 08:16 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,092
Rewards Points: 4,142
Default

Re: From flush-mount to surface-mount


Wiremold makes extension boxes to do exactly what you want. However, being commercial should have a licensed contractor perform the work for liability reasons.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2020, 09:05 AM   #3
Red Seal Electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 334
Default

Re: From flush-mount to surface-mount


It can definitely be done. Not difficult.

https://www.familyhandyman.com/list/...rical-conduit/

If something happens to end up not being up to code, it's easy to change or remove because it's not buried in a wall
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2020, 08:24 AM   #4
Ret. Elec. Contractor
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 178
Default

Re: From flush-mount to surface-mount


https://www.homedepot.com/p/4-in-x-1...-187/202097248


This will mount to either a single gang or 2 gang box by just turning the box 90. The holes lines up with the 6-32 device attachment screws.
Sparkyb60 likes this.
betelgeuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 11:45 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 881
Rewards Points: 58
Default


A blank plate with a knock-out (hole) will not allow you access to the wiring once you install the conduit.
Wiredindallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 12:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 952
Rewards Points: 1,896
Default

Re: From flush-mount to surface-mount


Yeah, they're called box extensions.

- If you already have a mud ring and have 2 gangs, use Betelgeuse's box (slick by the way!)
- If you want a neater installation, use a Legrand Wiremold Surface Conduit Starter Box (also good for getting some extra cubic inches).
- If you just have the 2 corner screws on a 4x4 box, any $1.50 4x4 extension box will do the trick.

All these have open bottoms on the box, specifically so you can reach through the box and get access to wires etc.
seharper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 10:20 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Re: From flush-mount to surface-mount


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiredindallas View Post
A blank plate with a knock-out (hole) will not allow you access to the wiring once you install the conduit.
Ah, that's a great point, and it hadn't occurred to me.

Thank you.
Rollie83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts