Is This Feasible ? ? ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-30-2010, 02:12 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

HOW Does This Work ? ? ?


Im trying to DIY on this one with supplies from lowes maybe.




POWER CORD:

# 1 - 30 Amp Dryer Cord

BREAKERS:

# 1 - 20 Amp Breaker 240 volt
# 1 - 10 Amp Breaker 120 volt

RECEPTACLES:

# 4 - 240 volt Receptacles
# 2 - 120 volt Receptacles





Last edited by HolidayMagic; 01-30-2010 at 09:47 PM.
HolidayMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 02:37 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


What is that abomination???

How about some 20A breakers.
And what is a "trigger cable"?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 02:43 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
What is that abomination???

How about some 20A breakers.
And what is a "trigger cable"?

its like a relay.

its for an outdoor lighting timer.


found it online but it is kind of pricey.

Thinking it would be better to build something like this myself.
HolidayMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 03:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I used Intermatic timers, I have (5) now (3 are on the far right in this pic)
4 of them control (2) 20 circuits each
The 4th is digital & controls (4) 20a circuit

They are usually about $45 - $40 with 10% off coupon
I picked up 2 of them for $7 each on clearance







Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 05:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default


It would help when asking a question like this if you posted the site where you saw that and any technical specifications they had there...

But I would "guess" that they are just using a "contactor" and the "trigger cable" just activates the contactor. A contactor is just an electrically operated switch also called a relay.

But contactors are designed to be mounted in a box like above. Relays are pretty much designed to be installed on a printed circuit board. And in vehicles they are frequently called solenoids.

But all the same thing - relay...

How a relay works...
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&s...h&aq=f&aqi=&oq=
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 05:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default


yeah looks like a power distribution box that takes a 240V circuit and turns it into multiple 120V outlets which are timed on a contactor relay.
Commonly used for HID lighting etc.
wtfh4xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 05:59 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question


The Specifications

POWER CORD:


1 - 30 Amp 3-Prong Dryer Cord

BREAKERS:

2 - 30 Amp Breaker 120 volt

RECEPTACLES:

4 - 120 volt Receptacles




Looking for a wiring diagram and maybe a parts list to make this exact setup.
HolidayMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 06:08 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


The 30A breakers are a violation.

Why not use four 20A breakers instead? One for each duplex?

Also, a 4-wire dryer cord and circuit would be MANDATORY!
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 06:37 PM   #9
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Is this feasible ? ? ?


HolidayMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 06:44 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


..................

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 01-30-2010 at 09:55 PM. Reason: No longer relevant
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 08:08 PM   #11
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,910
Rewards Points: 80
Default


The diagram shows 240 volts applied to the receptacles. That would be a problem.

That set-up certainly could be built using a 4 wire dryer cord and 20 amp breakers. The 120 volt trigger cord would work as-is.

It's really nothing more than a portable sub-panel with a relay to control the receptacles.

If you're going to use this for outside stuff, GFIs would be needed as well.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding subpanel in attic -- is this feasible? jayp Electrical 8 05-22-2009 10:22 AM
LED track lighting feasible yet? GFW Electrical 8 01-22-2009 12:13 PM
Hybrid Deck - Is Pressure Treated + Composite Feasible? kyassassin Building & Construction 4 01-15-2009 08:33 PM
burying CPVC under concrete amakarevic Plumbing 17 03-25-2008 08:45 AM
DIY replacement of neo angle shower enclosure feasible? hfoster Remodeling 4 02-14-2008 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts