Failed Inspection - Electrical - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-22-2010, 08:58 PM   #46
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Well out of 3 guys only 1 showed up. I provided him the list of corrections left by the inspector... We walked the house. Told me he would have to chissle all my walls to get the new wiring in. Said I have a brick firewall. Quoted me $30 an hour 40-50 hours worth of work. He is licensed and was on the list the city sent me.

Told me he would make a list of materials for me to buy or he would go with me to get the wire, outlets and other materials. Told me to expect to pay $900-$1000 for all the materials. He told me 1000 to 1500 feet of wire 12-2 and 14-3.

Told me he would pull the permit monday morning. Told me I could help him work with 3 other guys and if I proved useful he would cut the labor hours down.
justlosther is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2010, 06:05 PM   #47
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default


Justlosther, this may work out for you AND you will put in some of that sweat equity you are looking to put into the house!
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-23-2010, 06:08 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


your inspector will probably appreciate your involvement
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2010, 08:37 AM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 617
Rewards Points: 596
Default


Only $30 an hour? The economy really is bad! It sounds like you're back on track; good luck!
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 11:31 PM   #50
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by operagost View Post
Only $30 an hour? The economy really is bad! It sounds like you're back on track; good luck!

Got another quote today $2,200 for the whole Job w/mats
+$1,200 to go to 200amp service
+$1,800 to gp to 400amp service

This is a 4600SF home with no insulation. I was hoping to heat and cool with Electric Heat pump. It has 1 gas and 3 ol85 Oil fired furnaces now with no ac.

Today the electrician told me I would be very sorry if I did not go with 400amp service. I also plan on a 50gal electric waterheater. Do I need 400AMP?

Also got a quote for 100amp out side service whole job $255.00 + $10 a month for the rent of the pole and meter has 4 GFCI outlets.
justlosther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:54 AM   #51
Totally screwed together
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cypress, SoCal
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by justlosther View Post
It's a 1910 home. Wayne county Indiana.
You need to talk to an HVAC guy, or three. Sounds like you got one heck of a house! Are there historical considerations here?

The reason I ask is that older houses were built differently. They breath more, where new construction focuses on being air tight.

Heat pumps are economical within certain boundries, they don't do well when you have high and low extremes. Living in Indiana (I used to live in Illinois), you have extremes!

I would worry about the price of your future energy consumption in that big drafty house. How is the insulation?

It may be that a temp pole for now is your best bet until you have all your ducks in a row for future energy needs. Again, talk to the Building Inspector to make sure this is OK.
xxPaulCPxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:12 PM   #52
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
You need to talk to an HVAC guy, or three. Sounds like you got one heck of a house! Are there historical considerations here?

The reason I ask is that older houses were built differently. They breath more, where new construction focuses on being air tight.

Heat pumps are economical within certain boundries, they don't do well when you have high and low extremes. Living in Indiana (I used to live in Illinois), you have extremes!

I would worry about the price of your future energy consumption in that big drafty house. How is the insulation?

It may be that a temp pole for now is your best bet until you have all your ducks in a row for future energy needs. Again, talk to the Building Inspector to make sure this is OK.

Zero insulation. I have been reading about blown in insulation and injection insulation. Its a brick home so not sure about drilling holds every 4 feet to inject liquid insulation. The adict will have blown in insulation before winter no worries. This home is not ina historic district so I have no covents I have to follow. I was Was quoted 255 for outside service. Looks like this is what I am going to do. I have 2 more electricians comming tomorrow one at 9am and one at 10am. I am pulling the trigger tomorrow.
justlosther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:19 PM   #53
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by justlosther View Post
Got another quote today $2,200 for the whole Job w/mats
+$1,200 to go to 200amp service
+$1,800 to gp to 400amp service

This is a 4600SF home with no insulation. I was hoping to heat and cool with Electric Heat pump. It has 1 gas and 3 ol85 Oil fired furnaces now with no ac.

Today the electrician told me I would be very sorry if I did not go with 400amp service. I also plan on a 50gal electric waterheater. Do I need 400AMP?

Also got a quote for 100amp out side service whole job $255.00 + $10 a month for the rent of the pole and meter has 4 GFCI outlets.
I was watching this topic for a moment and there are couple items it will bring up to my attetion,.

The size of house which you have 4600 sq feet that is pretty big one and for sure you will denfine need 200 amp minuimservice size { I am not joking on this part } that will be included on gaz or oil furance and gaz stove and gaz water heater IMO that will queak by if my caluations is correct but once you throw in A/C { don't be suprised you may have mulit units } and electric water heater and few other hevey power useage that can push up to 400 amp service easy.
Oh by the way the 400 amp service there are couple ways to do this.,

The most common is use two 200 amp breaker boxes little cheaper than single 400 amp breaker box { almost 2or3 X of cost of two 200a units }

The other thing is that with 400 amp service most case I am pretty sure you will be using the 320 class meter socket but few case POCO may not allowed so you will have to use the CT{current transfomer } meter socket

The last large house I done it was 6200 Sq feet that I have to run 400 amp triphase not the single phase at all { it was little cheaper for me to snag the 400 amp tri phase than 600 amp single phase units }

However wish you the luck and make sure you listen to the Electrician tell ya they do know the code very well.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 08:54 PM   #54
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yeah 200a would be my min on house that big
With my addition I will have about 3600 sq ft
My load calc comes in at ~141a

That includes:
2 complete kitchen setups w/2stoves/microwaves, 5 small appliance circuits
50a hot tub
30a Steam shower
30a electric HW
1.5hp Pool pump
Dishwasher
Electric dryer
12a Radiant electric heat
600w electric heat
26 cu ft fridge
11 cu ft freezer
Maybe 50a AC window units- which we hardly use
Oil heat - so only a pump

With all of this electric & a large Christmas display (125a 120v one year) I still only have a 200a service, never tripped the Main



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 01:57 AM   #55
Totally screwed together
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cypress, SoCal
Posts: 325
Rewards Points: 250
Default


I am on board with you... except for your first four items:
2 complete kitchen setups w/2stoves/microwaves, 5 small appliance circuits
50a hot tub
30a Steam shower
1.5hp Pool pump
These are all PREMIUM items.

Really, you have two complete separate kitchens? A STEAM SHOWER... do you run some sort of spa out of your house?

You have somethings this poster can only DREAM of... he would be lucky to get one on that list.

This guy is just trying to make his house work... AND he doesn't have a job, so he's eating savings doing this. A 400 amp service really has to be justified for his current situation. $2K in upgrade buys alot of beans and rice and oil for the winter while he looks for work.
xxPaulCPxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:15 AM   #56
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
I am on board with you... except for your first four items:
2 complete kitchen setups w/2stoves/microwaves, 5 small appliance circuits
50a hot tub
30a Steam shower
1.5hp Pool pump
These are all PREMIUM items.

Really, you have two complete separate kitchens? A STEAM SHOWER... do you run some sort of spa out of your house?
I was trying to give an example of the electric loads on my house & the fact I am still only using a 200a service
Yes, my 24x36 addition w/great room has a bar area & will have a complete kitchen setup
Most bars/countertop setups REQUIRE 2 SABC
The stove is just an extra stove, doesn't add that much to the power calc
People give stoves away on Craigslist all the time
We opted to keep our old stove & install it behind the bar
Yes 3x5 steam shower, really not that expensive
And I actually have (2) 50a hot tubs
Both are solar heated in the warm weather (beginning of May)
Only one runs thru the winter
I hardly consider a pool pump as a premium item, one out of every 4 houses on our street has a pool



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 03:57 PM   #57
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxPaulCPxx View Post
A 400 amp service really has to be justified for his current situation. $2K in upgrade buys alot of beans and rice and oil for the winter while he looks for work.
I don't agree. I can name at least a DOZEN projects that I did on the cheap three years ago and now I am KICKING myself that I didn't do it better, more high end. The cost difference of $600 may seem monumental now, but at no time in the history of electrified homes has ANY individual wished they installed less juice.

I would most certainly do the 400, if I was in Justlosther's shoes.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 05:29 PM   #58
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
I did on the cheap three years ago and now I am KICKING myself that I didn't do it better, more high end.
The OP's present self is not the same as the OP's future self.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_inconsistency

The present 'utility function' for the OP is what counts.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 05:34 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
The OP's present self is not the same as the OP's future self.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_inconsistency

The present 'utility function' for the OP is what counts.
i like the way you think
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 05:55 PM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


One problem is the Inspector may require you to provide a load calc if you want to stay with a 100a service

With sq footage, 2 SABC, 30a WH you are already up to ~65a w/load calc

Now try to add AC, electric heat pump or any other major 240v load
As Marc said, 200a is min service for a house that size



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Passed my rough inspection, now what? theatretch85 Electrical 12 05-03-2009 02:11 AM
Home Inspectors / Non Disclosed Issues PreSale AndrewF Off Topic 14 02-06-2009 10:18 PM
Failed inspection pjm Plumbing 9 05-09-2008 04:09 PM
State Vehicle Inspection - ARGGH Leah Frances Off Topic 14 04-05-2008 12:59 PM
Failed framing inspection Hope I can sleep tonight!! NJlumberjack Building & Construction 14 01-16-2008 07:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts