Fail Safe Power Outlet Need Schematic - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-31-2009, 01:40 PM   #16
1geo
 
1geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa Bay area of Florida
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I checked out the RS site and they have everything except the reset switch. That should be no problem, in fact, I may have one on a piece of equipment I can pull. The pump I am trying to control draws about 26 watts so its well below the limit of the relay. Thanks for all your help. I'll post once I finish the circuit and let everyone know how it turned out. Thanks again, Geo.
1geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2009, 03:02 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


$6 for Hosfelt part number #45-699 120v coil relay.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2009, 05:19 PM   #18
1geo
 
1geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa Bay area of Florida
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Parts


I went to radio shack today and bought all the components. They have everything in stock except the relay which they ordered. I have everything already mounted in an aluminum box waiting for the relay which hopefully will come next week. I'll keep the thread going until I put the fail safe box together and test it out.
1geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2009, 12:44 AM   #19
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


You can just buy this.

http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=10956

Or this:

http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=13897

It's what I did for a stereo that made a loud noise when the power failed and came back on.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 06:38 AM   #20
1geo
 
1geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa Bay area of Florida
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Both of these are GFCI outlets. GFCI do not trip on a power loss but upon sensing a ground. So, these would not solve my problem.
1geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 07:45 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default


The portable G.F.I. cords I use have to be reset everytime you lose power.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:09 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


He's probably got half the cost of those GFCIs in his home made box. And he gets the satisfaction of building it himself. If the relay ever fails, he can just plug a new one in.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 11:38 AM   #23
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,129
Rewards Points: 348
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1geo View Post
Yoyizit, I am 71 years old and need a picture to follow when hooking up something. Your instructions are good but I'm not sure I could follow them. Geo.
No one can follow his advice. He reinvents the wheel in every post and confuses the hell out of people. Maybe he is so smart he has no common sense. Just ignore him and listen to InPhase. Theres your help. And it is easy to understand.

Who said relays were expensive? You can buy a miniature relay with base for less than an upper end duplex receptacle. IDEC is a good inexpensive brand. Weg is another.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 11:47 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
No one can follow his advice. He reinvents the wheel in every post and confuses the hell out of people. Maybe he is so smart he has no common sense. Just ignore him and listen to InPhase. Theres your help. And it is easy to understand.
OUCH!

BTW, are you the guy who said Grainger never helped anyone?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-02-2009 at 11:50 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 01:10 PM   #25
1geo
 
1geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa Bay area of Florida
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Can't we all just . . . get along?
1geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 02:42 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1geo View Post
Can't we all just . . . get along?
You're asking a lot!

And now I'm going to ask a lot. . .
Mr. V., I'm asking you to look for, and find, at least one way that you and I are similar.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 03:58 PM   #27
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1geo View Post
Both of these are GFCI outlets. GFCI do not trip on a power loss but upon sensing a ground. So, these would not solve my problem.
The ones I linked to that said manual reset do stay off. I needed to do the same thing you need.

Anyway if you are already half way done building a latching relay then keep going, just wanted to put that out there.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 04:38 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Inquiry about manual reset


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1geo View Post
Yes, I want an outlet that will stay off if power is lost. My problem is I have a marine aquarium with a wet/dry filter. The filter is a large 4 gal sump that sits on the floor behind the aquarium. The sump has a pump in it that circulates the water back to the main aquarium. If power is lost, the suction from the main aquarium is gravity from an over flow box. Without the sump pump running the gravity suction feed is quickly broken because it would suck all the water out of the over flow box and no water would be returned to the aquarium by the sump pump because of the power lost. The problem come in when the power comes back on. The sump pump would start and quickly pump all of the the water in the sump back to the aquarium but the gravity suction feed would have been broken so no new water is entering the sump. The sump pump would remove the water from the sump and continue running dry until it destroyed itself. Ir the sump pump does NOT come back on then I could manually reestablish the gravity feed back to the sump before I turned the pump on.
I'll (attempt to) give you the setup without the schematic diagram. Hoping you'll figure out where the parts go! (Something I built/designed...assembled a long time ago for an alarm system). 1) 120/12v. transformer; 2)SPST or DPST (N/O) relay w. 12v. coil 120v. contacts; 3)Manual reset (drop down, N/C, 12v. Connected in series; 4) Connect one or both 120v. leads on contact (as oppose to Coil) terminals. Et Voila!!! (No matter what)(confusing? Not really)Don't Drink and Drive!!!

Last edited by spark plug; 08-02-2009 at 04:42 PM. Reason: Attempted to edit my caption
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 05:19 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 03:35 PM   #30
1geo
 
1geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa Bay area of Florida
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Progress


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
The ones I linked to that said manual reset do stay off. I needed to do the same thing you need.

Anyway if you are already half way done building a latching relay then keep going, just wanted to put that out there.
I called seller, www.stayonline.com, and he verified that these outlet do trip on a power outage and need to be reset. Right now I have the outlet, schematic supplied by InPhase, finish with the exception of plugging in the relay which is on order. The total project cost is just over $20. When I get the relay I will post again.
1geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open circuit has power, close the circuit no power??? BeginnerHomeDIY Electrical 7 07-08-2009 02:40 PM
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 02:44 PM
pulling power from an outlet smcvey Electrical 6 03-21-2009 03:28 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Gun Safe vs. Floor Joists allen1466 Building & Construction 9 03-03-2006 08:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts