Extension Reel To Power On And Off Power Tools - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-29-2014, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

extension reel to power on and off power tools


Hi good people,
I bought a 12 gauge extension cord and a 15 amp reel with 4 outlets. The reel has a Resettable 15 A circuit breaker.

Aside from needing more length to reach the outlet, my purpose is to have a switch on/off of my circular saw.

I will be converting my circular saw into a table saw. I will clamp the trigger of the circular saw.

Is "Resettable 15 A circuit breaker" can be define as simple as on and off switch and is it safe to do this?

I bought the reel from canadiantire. ca I can't post links yet so this is the item # 52-2462-4.
Thanks
willr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2014, 05:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 7,788
Rewards Points: 1,812
Default


Your project sounds like an accident looking for a place to happen. (In more ways than one).

Take the cord reel back. While you are there, look at table saws.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2014, 05:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Your project sounds like an accident looking for a place to happen. (In more ways than one).

Take the cord reel back. While you are there, look at table saws.
Thanks for your reply. As far as electrical issue is concern, you think it's safe?
willr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2014, 05:31 PM   #4
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,233
Rewards Points: 7,426
Default


So you want to use the cut out on the power reel as the on / off switch for your
Home made table saw ?
Will it work ?
Yes !
How ever I suspect that the lifespan of the cut out will be short !
As they are not made for repeated operation.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 05:32 PM   #5
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


No--the breaker button on the real is not heavy enough and will arc out of service.

If you are determined to do this--buy a 20 amp switch--mount it inside of an eclectic box--wired to an outlet---with a heavy gauge cord

A circular saw /table saw is about as dangerous as you can get---why ???

Please---buy a table saw----how are you going to adjust the height of the blade?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
dgfit (03-29-2014), Jim Port (03-29-2014), PaliBob (03-30-2014)
Old 03-29-2014, 11:35 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
No--the breaker button on the real is not heavy enough and will arc out of service.

If you are determined to do this--buy a 20 amp switch--mount it inside of an eclectic box--wired to an outlet---with a heavy gauge cord

A circular saw /table saw is about as dangerous as you can get---why ???

Please---buy a table saw----how are you going to adjust the height of the blade?
Thanks for ur reply. I actually have a table saw but I can't have an accurate cut even after long hrs of fine tuning it. The diy table saw features and functions are well taken care of. My only issue now is the electrical safety.

So basically, adding a 20 amp switch to the 12g extension is a better idea?
willr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 12:38 AM   #7
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 5,233
Rewards Points: 7,426
Default


Not addressing the safety issue's of a home made table saw !
YES a proper switch is a better idea !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:04 AM   #8
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


yes.-----------
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:17 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


But then again, I don't want to make a cut to my 12g extension cord Besides I don't have any experience in wiring....

Are these instructions credible enough? >>>
ehow.com/how_5101904_use-extension-cord-surge-protector.html
willr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:21 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Oh the problem might be the durability of the switch again? It's fine with me if it will only last up to three months, there should be enough money to buy a quality table saw by that time. Never to buy a cheap mastercraft brand again
willr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 05:05 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,233
Rewards Points: 1,466
Default


I've used a 15 amp outlet power strip for a switch on a band saw for years. The only disadvantage is the light I have for it is plugged into the strip also so no light until the saw is running.

The only codes I pay much attention to are ZIP CODES.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 05:10 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairview View Post
I've used a 15 amp outlet power strip for a switch on a band saw for years. The only disadvantage is the light I have for it is plugged into the strip also so no light until the saw is running.

The only codes I pay much attention to are ZIP CODES.
With an extension cord?
Something like: Outlet>>extension cord>>surge protector>>power tool
willr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 05:20 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,233
Rewards Points: 1,466
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by willr View Post
With an extension cord?
Something like: Outlet>>extension cord>>surge protector>>power tool
Yes Sir
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 05:32 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


My extension cord is 12g but I can't seem to find a 12g surge protector, only 14g. Is there any compatibility issue with that? http://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/4-outlet.../6000109954969
willr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 05:44 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,233
Rewards Points: 1,466
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by willr View Post
My extension cord is 12g but I can't seem to find a 12g surge protector, only 14g. Is there any compatibility issue with that? http://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/4-outlet.../6000109954969
With that length the 14 ga. will be ok. It's probably heavier than the wire on the saw.

Shop around for outlets. I just bought a 2 pack of Stanley for 9.99.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts