Extending An Outlet - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-08-2010, 02:57 PM   #16
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default


You should think about running a new wire with enough slack from the most adjacent Jbox or outlet. You are going to have the wall open, right? So, do it right!

Have fun with the demo - my advice about demolition is to have lots of trash bags ready and don't overfill them.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2010, 02:57 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Yeah, I'd try to lower or raise the box
Do you have a crawl space or (finished) basement ?
I've put a junction box in the basement before & run new wire from there to the new box

I prefer to have splices easily accessible
Access from the finished basement will be tricky.Is bx stapled like romex?Just wondering if the cable can be pulled up or down.


Location is Bronx,New York
nel262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2010, 03:07 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
You should think about running a new wire with enough slack from the most adjacent Jbox or outlet. You are going to have the wall open, right? So, do it right!

Have fun with the demo - my advice about demolition is to have lots of trash bags ready and don't overfill them.
These will be 2 exterior walls and each wall has 2 outlets on/in it.I know that the outlets are on 2 seperate circuits from a circuit map that I made when I moved in.So at the most I'm looking at running 2 new wires.Nothing is ever easy.
nel262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2010, 03:27 PM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,410
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


The BX cable should be fastened similar to NM cable.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 02:44 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts