Extending 240V Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-13-2010, 11:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Extending 240V Circuit


This is my first posting on this site. I am a DIY'er, not a licensed electrician. I plan to contact an electrician for the actual wiring work, but, am now just trying to plan the layout of a remodeled kitchen. So, finally my question is this. I have an existing 240V outlet serving my existing all electric stove (both installed in 1980 in Florida when the house was built.) Can the 240V circuit be extended to place a new range about 3 feet away from this site, by pigtailing the wires in the existing box and running to the new outlet? (I know that code requires that the old box, where the pigtails would be housed, be identified and accessible on the exterior of the drywall - that is, we won't bury it in the wall.)
Destin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2010, 11:41 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Destin View Post
This is my first posting on this site. I am a DIY'er, not a licensed electrician. I plan to contact an electrician for the actual wiring work, but, am now just trying to plan the layout of a remodeled kitchen. So, finally my question is this. I have an existing 240V outlet serving my existing all electric stove (both installed in 1980 in Florida when the house was built.) Can the 240V circuit be extended to place a new range about 3 feet away from this site, by pigtailing the wires in the existing box and running to the new outlet? (I know that code requires that the old box, where the pigtails would be housed, be identified and accessible on the exterior of the drywall - that is, we won't bury it in the wall.)
If the existing circuit is a three wire circuit it should be upgraded to a four-wire configuration.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Destin (03-15-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2010, 11:51 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yes it can be extended if it is a 4 wire run
Mine is in metal conduit & the conduit serves as the ground



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
Destin (03-15-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2010, 12:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
If the existing circuit is a three wire circuit it should be upgraded to a four-wire configuration.
And only because you are moving/modifying the circuit. Left alone this would be compliant.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
Destin (03-15-2010)
Old 03-15-2010, 05:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks for all the help. Sorry it took me so long to get back. Had a bit of family emergency here - not DIY related :-). I have a three wire circuit in conduit.
Destin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring two 240v appliances to one circuit brandykn Electrical 2 02-02-2010 09:44 PM
Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit? npage148 Electrical 12 11-08-2009 11:29 AM
Acceptable to run new 120v circuit in existing conduit carrying 240v? TomServo Electrical 4 10-22-2009 05:20 PM
120v for shed from 240v HotTub circuit? MrMark Electrical 6 04-06-2009 12:43 AM
30a 240v air compressor circuit crecore Electrical 2 09-21-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts