Electrical Upgrade - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By brric

Old 05-21-2017, 08:32 PM   #1

Electrical upgrade

Hello all. Newbie here. I have some questions I was hoping someone here could answer for me. Please excuse me if I make things confusing but I'll try my best to be clear. Anyway, here's what I have...

I have a small house that I'm remodeling and the electrical is in bad need of updating. I'm on a budget so I'm trying to do as much as I can myself. What I want to do is upgrade to 200 amps from the old 100 amp fuse panel. I kinda know where im at here and will probably just have an electrical contractor take care of this when my budget allows but what I would like to do is go ahead and pull all of the interior circuits prior to doing so I can go ahead and finish up all of my other interior work.

Right now I'm just wandering if I shouldn't just go ahead and install a new 100 amp panel and then do the 200 amp later on. The reason for this is I'm going to have to move the location of my meter because it's not up to code and once I have them pull the meter that's it. I need to keep power while I do the other work that I can do as my budget allows.

So my questions are. Since I have to move the panel regardless. Can I temporarily put a outside main disconnect and feed the service wire from the meter in conduit to where my new meter base will eventually be installed and through to the new panel location, put in a new 100 amp panel and complete all of my interior work without there being any issues with an inspection once I upgrade to a 200 amp meter base and panel? Just trying to get things done asbi go without it killing my pocket too much at once.