Electrical Subpanels - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-16-2010, 03:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Subpanels


Is i permissable to run a subpanel off of another subpanel. I am installing a subpanel on the exterior wall of my house to run all the pool equipment I am installing, 2 pumps, saltwater system and light. I have a 100 amp subpanel inbetween my two garages and would like tofeed this subpanel from there rather then going back to the main 200amp panel. Also the new panel will be an exterior panel rated at 125 amps. Does this panel have to have a ground rod installed.
hawksclaw553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-16-2010, 03:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


How much power are you going to feed to the sub ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-16-2010, 03:03 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by hawksclaw553 View Post
Is i permissable to run a subpanel off of another subpanel. I am installing a subpanel on the exterior wall of my house to run all the pool equipment I am installing, 2 pumps, saltwater system and light. I have a 100 amp subpanel inbetween my two garages and would like tofeed this subpanel from there rather then going back to the main 200amp panel. Also the new panel will be an exterior panel rated at 125 amps. Does this panel have to have a ground rod installed.
Permissable yes, as long as the panel can accomodate the new loads.

Grounding rods, no.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 07:46 PM
Electrical Engineer allowed to do Electrical work? SarahJennifer Electrical 48 09-21-2009 08:15 PM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM
Feeding multiple subpanels with a single generator monsoon Electrical 8 10-02-2007 04:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts