Electrical Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-16-2009, 03:29 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical question


How do I install a timer on my porch light for security purposes while we're on vacation?
IAmWoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2009, 03:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Is this a hard wired light controlled by a switch?

My outside light I installed a programmable "switch"
It goes off & on at the times I set
I can also manually turn it off & on




We also plug in timers on lamps inside the house





Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2009, 03:53 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Yes, this is a hard-wired light controlled by a switch just inside the front door. The first graphic you provided seems to be the answer. Thanks.
IAmWoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2009, 04:24 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


Don't know what kind of room you have but this might work just leave the switch on http://www.smarthome.com/2512/Screw-...-Switch/p.aspx
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 04:49 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical question


The porch light would be on the porch, and the switch is just inside the front door.
IAmWoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Nice to meet you, Ms. Reddy.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 08:28 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmWoman View Post
How do I install a timer on my porch light for security purposes while we're on vacation?
1) Buy a timer like the first one in Scuba Dave's post.
2) Remove the wall switch and install the timer according to the instructions.
3) Program the timer.
4) Enjoy your vacation.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 08:56 PM   #8
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default


Just a precaution before buying a programmable switch for a porch light.

For energy conservation and long life many porch lights are now compact florescent. Some Wall switch timers will not work with florescent bulbs.
e.g. http://www.intermatic.com/products/t...rs/ej500c.aspx

Make sure of the Load Rating before buying.

Another Consideration on Programmable Switches is the security issue of what happens if there is a Power Outage while you're on vacation? Some switches have a 3V battery (lasts about 3 years) that will maintain the program and time schedule when the Power comes back on.

I use the Intermatic Model ST01C which has switch contacts rated for 15A resistive and 8A for a 120V Ballast (florescent) This model also has the included battery
http://www.westsidewholesale.com/hea...mer-white.html

The STO1C is being replaced by the newest model E1600 which has a rating of 16 A for Ballasts. This is brand new model that is way overkill for a porch light.

http://www.intermatic.com/products/t...0switches.aspx
.

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 09:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You could also do a photocell.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 05:55 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


That timer switch looks like an Aube astronomical unit. Click here for
ordering information. You program it with your latitude and longitude so it knows when the sun sets and switches on your lights. Same for sunrise. although you can program it to turn off your lights at midnight if you want.


And Bob, it will operate any kind of load, since it requires a neutral wire for its switching mechanism. Also, it does not need a battery, unlike the Intermatic units.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 07:52 AM   #11
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 8
Default


I decided to leave my front porch light on all the time. 2 years and counting on the same CFL bulb.

Plus, I HATE my neighbor's motion detector light (though I know that's not what the thread is about - just venting) it goes off (I mean on) every time anyone drives down the street.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 11:01 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


My timer has worked with multiple CFL bulbs/Mfg without a problem
We have light from a street light on the corner of our property
So we don't really need the light too much
I have an LED light string on the 3 season porch as light
I'm not into the motion detectors any more



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 12:08 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
That timer switch looks like an Aube astronomical unit. Click here for
ordering information. You program it with your latitude and longitude so it knows when the sun sets and switches on your lights. Same for sunrise. although you can program it to turn off your lights at midnight if you want.


And Bob, it will operate any kind of load, since it requires a neutral wire for its switching mechanism. Also, it does not need a battery, unlike the Intermatic units.
My aube. Easy to program, and it's great not having to adjust the dawn/dusk settings every few weeks. I just wish there was a standard "white" between all of the manufacturers.
Attached Thumbnails
Electrical question-photo.jpg  
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:49 PM   #14
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical


Thanks, Guys, for all your help. Since my husband thinks electricity is witchcraft, I will pass along to him all your suggestions so he can study for himself which device to use.
IAmWoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 10:13 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Just one little note; Those timers can be used as Seven day timers. They have Seven sets of on/off programs. They're easy to program. (just watch to have the right DAY displayed for each program desired. Otherwise you'll be disappointed when the lights don't come ON or go OFF as intended). As a general rule, (in my own experience) those timers that use a NEUTRAL as part of their operation can be used with fluorescent lights including CFL. And the timer will continue to function regardless if there is a working bulb in the socket. On the other hand, the timers that are hooked up w. 2 wires, "in series" won't work with any fluorescent lamps, and will only be operable (i.e. the LCD display) when there is a working lamp in the socket!
p.s.; Thanks Scuba Dave for the clear display of the timer!!! (Can't import any Smilies to a "Quick Reply" yet! (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a homeowner perform electrical work in MA? dpd512 Electrical 77 04-11-2012 06:48 AM
Electrical Engineer allowed to do Electrical work? SarahJennifer Electrical 48 09-21-2009 08:15 PM
Simple electrical question (Amperage/voltage) Badfish740 Electrical 18 01-06-2009 11:35 AM
Basic Electrical Question Dom Electrical 11 12-01-2007 12:42 AM
220? Electrical question coondog7 Electrical 6 11-19-2007 09:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts