Electrical Panel Move ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-09-2012, 12:24 PM   #1
noshoff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

electrical panel move ?


Move an electrical panel? Panel is now located in a bedroom closet with a low ceiling. I wish to raise the ceiling height and make a hallway. However, the wiring is streched so tight out of the low ceiling closet I can't seem to push it up far enough to get the ceiling at the right height. What can I do to get additional slack in the wiring?
shadowbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-2012, 12:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowbuilder
Move an electrical panel? Panel is now located in a bedroom closet with a low ceiling. I wish to raise the ceiling height and make a hallway. However, the wiring is streched so tight out of the low ceiling closet I can't seem to push it up far enough to get the ceiling at the right height. What can I do to get additional slack in the wiring?
Leave the old panel as a junction box and you have no problem.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-11-2012), shadowbuilder (01-09-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-2012, 12:35 PM   #3
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,211
Rewards Points: 512
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Leave the old panel as a junction box and you have no problem.
An accessible junction box.
J. V. is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-11-2012), shadowbuilder (01-10-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2012, 10:15 PM   #4
noshoff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default


I have not detailed the situation accurately. I don't see how a junction box raises all of the conductors,coming out of the panel for the entire house, high enough to install the proper height ceiling.
shadowbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 10:33 PM   #5
MarginallyQualified
 
TarheelTerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 4,986
Rewards Points: 4,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowbuilder View Post
I don't see how a junction box raises all of the conductors, coming out of the panel for the entire house, high enough to install the proper height ceiling.
Use the OLD PANEL as a junction box.
Leave it where it is, install a DIFFERENT panel where you want...
and then extend all the wires between the two.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:31 AM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 14,608
Rewards Points: 18,206
Blog Entries: 2
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowbuilder View Post
Move an electrical panel? Panel is now located in a bedroom closet with a low ceiling. I wish to raise the ceiling height and make a hallway. However, the wiring is streched so tight out of the low ceiling closet I can't seem to push it up far enough to get the ceiling at the right height. What can I do to get additional slack in the wiring?
Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Use the OLD PANEL as a junction box.
Leave it where it is, install a DIFFERENT panel where you want...
and then extend all the wires between the two.
OP's title is a little wrong.....what I think he is really asking is how to make the wires longer so that it clears the hallway he wants to make.

shadowbuilder....basically, you have to make a decision....move your existing load center or add a junction box so you can extend your wires. In either case, your most likely going to need a junction box. In other words, all the wires going into your load center need to be made longer....so your going to have to pull them all out, run them to a junction box out of the way AND accessible and then run from the junction box to your load center.

And if your going through that much work, it might be a good time to move the load center to a better location that you know will be out of the way.

That is basically what I had to do when I upgraded my electrical from 60a to 200a 11 years ago.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:11 AM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,383
Rewards Points: 3,666
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
And if your going through that much work, it might be a good time to move the load center to a better location that you know will be out of the way.
Especially since panels in bedroom closets are a code violation, and closets in general often make achieving the working space requirements very difficult. Unless the new hallway you're making is completely replacing the closet, you will have to put the panel elsewhere. Substantially modifying the panel (like by removing and extending all of the wires) would definitely require that you bring the installation up to current code.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:49 PM   #8
noshoff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Mpoulton, Thanks for your help. I am completely replacing the closet with hallway six foot by three foot
shadowbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:07 PM   #9
noshoff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default


You got my hallway and need for longer wires understood. Thanks. I am afraid you are telling me to disconnect eveything at the existing load center and find a spot to reconnect everything to a new load center. Then run the power only from the old(existing) load center to the new located load center. Is this a rewire of the whole house?
shadowbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:55 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,560
Rewards Points: 6,674
Default


Are all the wires feed from the top, or are some fed from the bottom?
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 10:35 PM   #11
noshoff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default


all from the top jbfan, thru the floor joists, over and under the hvac, hidden above the sheetrock, etc. Thanks for asking.
shadowbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:22 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,560
Rewards Points: 6,674
Default


Raise the panel, and this will give you slack to raise the ceiling.
PIctures may help also.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:49 AM   #13
noshoff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default


This may be the best advice yet! It stil must b work easy. How high for code?
shadowbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 07:13 AM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,827
Rewards Points: 3,766
Default


The highest breaker cannot be above 6'-7" to the center of the handle.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 09:12 AM   #15
noshoff
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Thank you Jim.
shadowbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
Electrical Panel Positioning Lseguin Electrical 12 01-20-2011 07:09 AM
Electrical Sub Panel Grounding KellyElaine Electrical 17 01-17-2011 06:46 PM
Fireblocking around electrical service panel dbmjmj Building & Construction 0 07-11-2010 05:51 PM
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question Todd-sta Electrical 52 12-03-2008 11:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts