Electrical Boxes For Metal Studs - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By hkstroud
  • 1 Post By HandyAndyInNC
  • 1 Post By HandyAndyInNC
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-11-2019, 01:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 986
Rewards Points: 640
Default

Electrical boxes for metal studs


I need to bulk order electrical boxes for outlets for metal studs for a new installation. Studs are 3 5/8". Electrical is being run with Metal clad cable. MC lite.

I'm in nyc so i need metal boxes with side clamps.

What size and depth should I get?

Also anyone know of boxes that have a bar that braces on the wall behind it so the box doesn't flex when pushing plugs into the outlet.
jaketrades is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2019, 01:33 PM   #2
Member
 
hkstroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,781
Rewards Points: 5,544
Default

Re: Electrical boxes for metal studs


I would just screw a short piece of 2x4 to the metal stud and attach a regular nail up box to that.
jaketrades likes this.
__________________
Harold,
The Left Handed Widget Maker
hkstroud is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2019, 02:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Airy North Carolina
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 470
Default

Re: Electrical boxes for metal studs


I have always used a regular or deep 4x4 box with a single or double device ring. You will think yourself later when you have to deal with the conduit or the amount of wires in each. If you use conduit all the way to the box, that will give it extra support.



You do not want to hammer on the metal stud, they are not that strong.


Andrew
Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC
jaketrades likes this.
HandyAndyInNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-11-2019, 02:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 986
Rewards Points: 640
Default

Re: Electrical boxes for metal studs


Quote:
Originally Posted by HandyAndyInNC;
I have always used a regular or deep 4x4 box with a single or double device ring. You will think yourself later when you have to deal with the conduit or the amount of wires in each. If you use conduit all the way to the box, that will give it extra support.



You do not want to hammer on the metal stud, they are not that strong.


Andrew
Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC

Yeah I was thinking about getting the 1900 boxes 4x4 with device rings. Iíll look for some with side clips.

Yeah I hated working in those small outlet boxes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jaketrades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 02:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Mt Airy North Carolina
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 470
Default

Re: Electrical boxes for metal studs


Make sure to get some short self-tapping screws.
Me too, I always try to make things easy for myself when it comes to this.


Andrew
Handy Andy In Mt Airy NC
jaketrades likes this.
HandyAndyInNC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HandyAndyInNC For This Useful Post:
jaketrades (03-11-2019)
Old 03-11-2019, 02:42 PM   #6
Member
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,072
Rewards Points: 6,142
Default

Re: Electrical boxes for metal studs


Here's a box made for the purpose:
Use "wafer" screws to attach wing to metal stud.
Attached Images
 
CodeMatters is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:37 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,346
Rewards Points: 898
Default

Re: Electrical boxes for metal studs


Use the box mentioned above, it is designed for steel studs.

The part on the left wraps around the back of the stud and the wing on the right will hit the drywall after install to prevent box from flexing.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 04:48 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,314
Rewards Points: 3,592
Default


You can use these with 1900 boxes and plaster.rings.
https://www.garvinindustries.com/han...saAtwuEALw_wcB
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2019, 08:15 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 7,941
Rewards Points: 540
Default

Re: Electrical boxes for metal studs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You can use these with 1900 boxes and plaster.rings.
https://www.garvinindustries.com/han...saAtwuEALw_wcB
That's what I use and I short panhead screws.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How far should electrical boxes stick out to account for tile backsplash? Studly Electrical 20 02-12-2019 10:31 AM
Shallow Electrical Boxes l008com Electrical 46 11-22-2018 06:17 AM
Making outside light electrical boxes waterproof wewantutopia Electrical 8 12-26-2014 09:50 AM
Hole locations in metal electrical boxes miamicuse Electrical 1 08-18-2013 02:55 PM
Can I cover unwanted electrical boxes (ie switch box) with drywall?? DanDaMan Electrical 15 03-07-2011 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts