Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 03:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical


I am trying to switch out my 3 way light switch with a GE Smart Digital Timer Model # 15071. My GE Smart Digital Timer has 4 wires Red, Black, White and Green. My original 3 way Switch had a Red wire on the top right, aa Black Wire on the Top left, a Black Wire at the Bottom Right and a bear copper wire at the bottom left around a green Nut. I also have a bundle of White wires tied off in the back of the electrical box. I am trying to determine which wire goes to which wire. The instructions do not say anything about a red wire from my electrical box and I'm not sure which black wire is the load and which is the main power. Can anone help??
Bernie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2010, 03:32 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


That is a single pole timmer and will not work in 3 way setting.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2010, 03:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical


So, when I go back to the store I should ask for a single pole timer??
Bernie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2010, 03:41 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernie H View Post
So, when I go back to the store I should ask for a single pole timer??
No, you need a 3 way timer.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 04:53 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


do you have the packaging or literature that came with this switch? I haven't looked it up but it sounds like the timer I have and it can be used with a single pole or 3 way switch. I don't remember the wiring at the moment. Will have to look for it
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 07:16 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,168
Rewards Points: 980
Default


http://www.jascoproducts.com/support...Manual-eng.pdf

This is what I found on that timer.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 08:50 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
http://www.jascoproducts.com/support...Manual-eng.pdf

This is what I found on that timer.
Now that I'm awake and I re-read the post, I agree with your advice.

Of course mine has a second colored wire.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 07:46 PM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts