Electric Stove Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-01-2012, 11:30 AM   #1
Retired NYPD
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Electric stove wiring


I have an electric stove that the tag says is 10 kw, and 120/240. What size wire ga. Do I need? Is it 8 ga. Or 6 ga.? And 3 wire. I was told it needs a 50 amp circuit breaker.
FrankLa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2012, 11:42 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,632
Rewards Points: 3,740
Default


New installs need to be 4 wire. The allowance for 3 wires ended in the 90's.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
Retired NYPD
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What gauge wire


Jim port, what gauge wire should I use? 6 or 8 ga.?
FrankLa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2012, 12:19 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,581
Rewards Points: 328
Default


10KW / 240 = 41.7 amps

#6 wire or cable with 50 amp breaker

4 wire circuit required.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:22 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


A 10kw range/stove can be on a minimum 40 amp branch circuit using 8 awg copper. However future upgrades could be stoves/ranges with more power useage. Generally speaking ranges/stoves 12 kw and above should be on 50 amp branch circuits or more. So your choice is to wire for the range/stove you have or wire for any future upgrade.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:06 PM   #6
Retired NYPD
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
New installs need to be 4 wire. The allowance for 3 wires ended in the 90's.
What gauge wire should I use? 6 or8 gauge?
FrankLa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:45 PM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default


#6 copper with 4 conductors
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
de-activate 220v electric stove outlet 6fthook Electrical 17 10-04-2011 06:32 PM
Electric Water Heater Wiring tech14 Electrical 6 09-23-2011 01:53 PM
Wiring for electric range rgustavw Electrical 2 09-21-2010 02:18 AM
Wiring Stove from Switch Box sleepysmurf Electrical 3 08-12-2010 04:54 PM
Electric wiring AMPIN88 Electrical 1 02-21-2009 10:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts