Electric Motor Dies Out, Says It's Due To Low Amps - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-26-2016, 02:39 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


Do you have an amp clamp that you can use? It can be used at the panel. It'll tell us exactly how much current your pulling.

The 240 / 120v suggestion is valid. Please make sure it's the correct voltage motor. (even if you ordered the right one, they can still ship the wrong one. Looks like these fountains can be ordered with both.)

Is this what you have?
DA-20 Display Aerator 0.5 HP


Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2016, 02:40 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 657
Rewards Points: 646
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


So does anyone think it's possible that the power supply to the home could be dropping low enough to affect this motor, but not anything else in the house? I don't know how low the voltage would need to drop but anything else I have that consumes anything close to this would be the central air, our water well or our sprinkler pump. But all those are 230v. This is the only high amperage device I have that is 115v except for things like refrigerators. There's nothing else on the circuit but this pump but I'm getting to the point where I may call the power company and have them test the transformer or see if there's something loose in the meter if that could be causing the issues.
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2016, 02:42 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 657
Rewards Points: 646
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


Yes, I have the DA-20 .5hp model. The last time I used an amp clamp, it had to be clamped on to just the hot lead, not both. Is that still the case? That could be hard to check at the outlet, but I can remove the outlet and check while it's still plugged in to test it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by supers05 View Post
Do you have an amp clamp that you can use? It can be used at the panel. It'll tell us exactly how much current your pulling.

The 240 / 120v suggestion is valid. Please make sure it's the correct voltage motor. (even if you ordered the right one, they can still ship the wrong one. Looks like these fountains can be ordered with both.)

Is this what you have?
DA-20 Display Aerator 0.5 HP


Cheers!
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-26-2016, 02:45 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorjm View Post
Yes, I have the DA-20 .5hp model. The last time I used an amp clamp, it had to be clamped on to just the hot lead, not both. Is that still the case? That could be hard to check at the outlet, but I can remove the outlet and check while it's still plugged in to test it.
Yes, that is how you test for current. Just be careful then if that's how you have to get your clamp on.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to supers05 For This Useful Post:
taylorjm (11-26-2016)
Old 11-26-2016, 02:55 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 657
Rewards Points: 646
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


I also found they have an ac line splitter that can be plugged between the outlet and the appliance to test the amperage draw without disassembling the outet. Sounds like I need to buy some toys....I mean...tools, necessary tools...


Quote:
Originally Posted by supers05 View Post
Yes, that is how you test for current. Just be careful then if that's how you have to get your clamp on.

Cheers!
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 02:56 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


The manufacturer says that you have 160' at #12.

The calculation comes up with a 4% voltage dropwhich is higher then they like. That's using 10A. The manufacture may be using the actual measured current, not the rated. Manufactures do odd things sometimes.

For #10 the calculation puts you out past 130ft at less then 3% voltage drop. You should be just fine. (both using 115V)

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 02:57 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorjm View Post
I also found they have an ac line splitter that can be plugged between the outlet and the appliance to test the amperage draw without disassembling the outet. Sounds like I need to buy some toys....I mean...tools, necessary tools...
Lol. Yeah I like those guys. Handy. My wife calls them toys.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 03:00 PM   #23
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,155
Rewards Points: 31,622
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


Check the voltage and current now while it is working. When it starts fail check it again and compare to previous readings.
It could be an issue with main service, but I would expect you would notice it in the house as flicker or dimming lights.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 03:07 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 657
Rewards Points: 646
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


I'll do that. Since it's a vacation home, we aren't there much, but I did notice this last week when I was using a vacuum in the house that the lights did dim. It surprised me because all the lights are led bulbs so they aren't drawing much at all and to have them dim with the vacuum on seemed odd. The house is well wired without any circuits being overloaded. I may have to do some more investigating on that one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Check the voltage and current now while it is working. When it starts fail check it again and compare to previous readings.
It could be an issue with main service, but I would expect you would notice it in the house as flicker or dimming lights.
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2016, 06:05 PM   #25
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,155
Rewards Points: 31,622
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


If you have a overhead feed go outside and look at the connection to the POCO drop. Use binoculars if you have to. You may see one of them is burnt up looking.
supers05 likes this.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 07:36 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,836
Rewards Points: 3,278
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


If you measure voltage at the panel that can tell you if there is a loose connection or other problem upstream of that point.

You might also look into an in-line fuse or breaker with a custom amperage value for the pump motor only so the power will be cut off due to excessive current draw (either due to low voltage or high mechanical resistance) before the motor overheats. This can be put anywhere in the pump circuit including in a junction box next to the panel.
__________________
Stop some of your bank autopayments so you can set priorities for manual monthly payments out of your coronavirus stimulus check.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2016, 07:52 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 582
Rewards Points: 526
Default

Re: electric motor dies out, says it's due to low amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorjm View Post
So I have a water fountain in the lake at a vacation home. It runs a propeller and uses a deep well submersible electric motor to power it. Bought it from a company, so it's not homemade. I've had the motor replaced three times now because after it runs perfect for about a month, the motor rpm's slow way down. If I unplug the motor, and plug it back in, it starts up at full speed, then maybe after 10 minutes, it slows way down again. Eventually, if I unplug it and plug it back in, it will slow down after a couple minutes and is useless. It's a motor by franklin electric, is 115v and 10amp. The company told me they've seen this before and it's due to not enough voltage usually because of a long wire length. The circuit it's on is about 100' from the house and is 12 gauge wire. So, I went and buried a new line. I used 100' of wire and used 10 gauge on either a 20 amp or 30 amp breaker. (can't remember at the moment). Plugged in the motor on the new circuit and had the same results. The company sent the motor back to franklin electric for testing and they said it's fine. The company also said they ran the fountain at their shop when I sent it back in and it worked fine.

So any ideas? I haven't had any kind of power related issues at the home. I went in the breaker box and tightened up all the power leads and connections so everything is tight and nothing looks corroded or anything. Originally I found the neutral and ground wire loose on the original circuit so I thought I had it figured out, but it didn't help. The breaker box is a GE 30 space, 150amp box that's filled up. House and wiring is 20 years old, so nothing really old or unexpected in the home. I even tried checking to make sure the central air wasn't running at the same time causing some kind of drain, but it didn't help.
didn't read the other post but get a electric guy with a amp probe and see that the amprage the motor is drawing and also the voltage this will tell you about the wiring to motor
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Forced Air Furncace Fisher HVAC 0 02-08-2011 07:24 AM
Electric Baseboard Heater Questions mark2741 HVAC 0 12-31-2010 12:08 PM
Amps vs wattage moneymgmt Electrical 8 05-30-2007 07:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts