Elec. In Const. Trlr. - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-27-2009, 03:56 AM   #16
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,893
Rewards Points: 1,104
Default


Okay, I went back and read the first post, and I sugguest we stop and look at the size of this trailer the load demand. The trailer is 8' x 24'. That is pretty small for 100 amp service. My shed is bigger and I have a 50 amp panel.
Currently the trailer has 3 20amp and 1 15amp breakers, right? Let me guess,assuming single poles, the 15 amp is the lights 2 20amp for receptacles and 1 20 amp for the A/C. Am I close? What is the heat in this trailer? I will guess that the twist lock is a 50 or 60 amp? Is this trailer primarily used only by you? The reason I ask these questions is that I think you are going overkill on sizing the feed to this panel. I am trying to save you money based on what you really need. If the breakers are as I described, single, and the existing power cord is what I think it is,50/60 amp twist lock, I see no reason for going to 100 amps. The current load could be served by a 30 amp 120/240 panel and if additional loads are to be added, I can not see anything larger than a 60 amp service being needed, unless a large compressor or welder is involved. In general you are not going to be running everything at once in your trailer. If you want a 100 amp panel, no prob, but I am not sure you need it. Also, what state are you in, so I can look up which code cycle you are on.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2009, 12:04 PM   #17
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,129
Rewards Points: 348
Default


Menu,
Yes, you need to run a feeder from the main panel in the house. But I don't think you will need a 100 amp circuit. The items you mentioned in the first post will easily be satisfied with a 60 amp circuit feeding your 100 amp existing panel. It does have a 100 amp main breaker right?

You are correct. Put in a 4x4 post next to the trailer and put a 60 amp disconnect on it. It does not need to be fused.

For the feeder you need a 60 amp two pole breaker. 1" conduit or bigger. #4 THWN wire (3 individual lengths) I say #4 due to your distance and 1 -#10 ground wire. Run your feeder from main panel to disconnect on post.

Let us know about "permanent or temporary". Then we can tell you what to do next.
__________________
If it worked before you worked on it. You did something wrong.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2009, 03:13 PM   #18
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thanks


Code 5 and JV
I got It, a 2pole 60 amp at main panel @ house.
The wire ran 220' as JW says to 60 amp diconect at trlr. grond @ trlr. and feed panel in trlr. from disconect on post.
Rite!
Thanks
menu item is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2009, 12:16 PM   #19
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,129
Rewards Points: 348
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by menu item View Post
Code 5 and JV
I got It, a 2pole 60 amp at main panel @ house.
The wire ran 220' as JW says to 60 amp diconect at trlr. grond @ trlr. and feed panel in trlr. from disconect on post.
Rite!
Thanks
You pick up stuff real quick menu! Don't cut any corners. Use conduit and the right size wire.

You were very easy to help.
__________________
If it worked before you worked on it. You did something wrong.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 02:07 PM   #20
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

thanks


Thanks J.V.
menu item is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Un-used elec wire..hide in wall? GSaunders02 Electrical 4 08-27-2009 06:34 AM
out with elec cooktop, in with gas mathewmarie Appliances 5 11-08-2008 05:58 PM
underwater elec. panel robin power Electrical 33 11-02-2008 04:38 PM
Elec short causing A/C problems or A/C problems causing elec problems? Marlon Electrical 2 06-25-2008 02:04 PM
Outdoor lights with seasonal elec. run Digger01 Electrical 13 10-30-2007 03:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts