Dryer Hookup - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-26-2009, 09:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 67
Default

Dryer Hookup


I'm getting a new dryer for my home. The existing dryer has wire coming out from the wall. Can I use a 3-wire range cord to install the power connection?
tate16t is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 10:11 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Why not use a dryer cord?

Is there are receptacle? 3-hole? 4-hole?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2009, 10:50 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I am with Speedy Pete

Here what the three conductor receptale look like



Now here what 4 conductor receptale look like



Both can come in surface or recessed verison

let us know if you have one of the two

Merci. Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2009, 09:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 67
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I am with Speedy Pete

Here what the three conductor receptale look like



Now here what 4 conductor receptale look like



Both can come in surface or recessed verison

let us know if you have one of the two

Merci. Marc
Sorry, I wasn't clear in my post. The existing dryer does not have a cord. It is hard wired via a cable coming from the wall. I understand I need to have a receptacle added and will do so. My question is, do I add a 4 or 3 conductor receptacle? I was under the impression that existing built homes can go with 3.
tate16t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:29 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Sorry, I wasn't clear in my post. The existing dryer does not have a cord. It is hard wired via a cable coming from the wall. I understand I need to have a receptacle added and will do so. My question is, do I add a 4 or 3 conductor receptacle? I was under the impression that existing built homes can go with 3.
All depends on how many wires are in the cable, what kind of cable it is, and what color the wires are. Can you tell us?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 67
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
All depends on how many wires are in the cable, what kind of cable it is, and what color the wires are. Can you tell us?
When I get home later today I will check. I should be able to tell you since the cable coming from the wall connnects to a metal box and then continues to the dryer.
tate16t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 07:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 67
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
All depends on how many wires are in the cable, what kind of cable it is, and what color the wires are. Can you tell us?
I'm in NY. The existing dryer does not have a cord. It is hardwired. A cable is coming from the dryer to a steel utility box. The cable coming from the wall is black with a black, white cable and a copper ground cable coming from it. They connect within the steel utility box to the dryer cable. I understand I need to have a receptacle added and will do so. Do I add a 4 or 3 conductor receptacle? I was under the impression that existing built homes can go with 3. Thanks for your help!

Last edited by tate16t; 10-27-2009 at 07:55 PM.
tate16t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 07:40 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


That's a three wire. I am pretty sure your neutral should be insulated though.
Might need a new #10 4-wire cable assembly and 30 amp breaker
Penczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 07:45 PM   #9
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


That wiring is not and never has been the proper for a dryer. Replace it with 10/3 w/ground run directly from the panel, terminated with the 4 conductor receptacle.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:32 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by tate16t View Post
I'm in NY. The existing dryer does not have a cord. It is hardwired. A cable is coming from the dryer to a steel utility box. The cable coming from the wall is black with a black, white cable and a copper ground cable coming from it. They connect within the steel utility box to the dryer cable. I understand I need to have a receptacle added and will do so. Do I add a 4 or 3 conductor receptacle? I was under the impression that existing built homes can go with 3. Thanks for your help!

I wrote underline there and this is a wrong cable useage for dryer the bare conductor is not used for current carry conductor at all the only time it will allowed is SE cable that it anything else the bet is off with exsting installment but if it was replaced then someone is not paying attetion to the code that time when someone installed the cable.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:03 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Although it will function safely (my opinion of course), the NM cable you have is not proper for a dryer.

Type SE cable also utilizes a bare neutral/ground but it for some reason is legal in existing circuits.

You have a 3 wire circuit existing. The black and white wires are hot (240 volts) and the bare was acting as the neutral/ground.

If you can replace the cable with a 10-3 with ground back to the panel and remove the bonding jumper in the dryer jbox, you will have a code compliant installation.


My house...eh.

Customers house, I'd tell them they had to replace it.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 67
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
That wiring is not and never has been the proper for a dryer. Replace it with 10/3 w/ground run directly from the panel, terminated with the 4 conductor receptacle.
What would be the approximate cost for an electrician to do this?
tate16t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 10:29 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


$200 - $1200.

See my replies on the other board you posted to.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:10 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 67
Default


I'm posting pics...

Last edited by tate16t; 08-12-2012 at 10:59 AM.
tate16t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:17 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,427
Rewards Points: 6,428
Default


Needs to be redone.
Looks like they took and old stove run and used it for a dryer.
The box is too small for the connections, and they connected the bare ground to the neutral wire leaving the box.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please look at this dryer vent installation Andy Griffith Appliances 6 08-31-2009 12:39 PM
Dryer vent ponch37300 General DIY Discussions 10 01-21-2009 04:26 PM
Dryer Pony Problem. Hobb3s Electrical 17 09-30-2008 08:16 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM
Dryer vent. kcrossley2 Plumbing 10 02-20-2008 12:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts