Dropping Computer Cable To Basement From First Floor - How To - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 04-15-2014, 08:58 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,955
Rewards Points: 106
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Very little need for hardwired connections now days. Only things hardwired in my house, is the DirecTV DVR & Blu-Ray Player one a switch, a PS3, and the two Access Points upstairs.

Everything else in my place is wireless.
As I said, only dependable way to go is hardwired!

__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to digitalplumber For This Useful Post:
djlandkpl (04-16-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2014, 09:14 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
As I said, only dependable way to go is hardwired!

Hard wired is not dependable. You can still have packet loss in certain circumstances. Majority of homes like my household is. You will find very little equipment that is hardwired. The majority will be wireless.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2014, 06:59 AM   #18
Member
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,879
Rewards Points: 2,536
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Hard wired is not dependable.
Nah. Gotta disagree there. Not that you can't get packet loss, because you can, but I have found wireless to be a bit iffy when streaming bigger files. A 40 gig Blu Ray movie for example with DTShdMA audio just doesn't stream as smoothly through wireless as in hard wire (gigabyte connection). Wireless is great for the handheld devices (phone,tablet... etc) and in fact I do has your previous suggestion above (a combination of the wired/wireless technologies) but for the serious and heavy streaming, hard wire still can't be beat.
There is also a slightly higher security risk with wireless that needs to be considered. Granted, with today's various protection methods, cracking a wireless network is not an easy thing to do. However the more (unnecessary) wireless connections you have in the house, the more vulnerable you become.
Bob Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bob Sanders For This Useful Post:
djlandkpl (04-16-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2014, 09:07 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 51
Default


Thanks everyone! Just wanted to report that gregzoll put me in the right direction. Took his advice and the project took 10 minutes. We wanted a hardwire connection for stability but we don't always keep our wifi on because of emf(s). When we want to use wifi, we just turn it on, but most of the time it is off, hence we wanted a hardwire connection. Working great, thanks again everyone, glad this forum is here.
abacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 09:11 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 51
Default


BTW how much do you think we saved DIY? It cost us $38 for the bit. Just curious.
abacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 12:18 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


abacker, you get more emf from your tv, and going outside, along with rf & emf from radio & tv stations in your area & from the solar System, then you do from your wifi equipment.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 05:31 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,003
Rewards Points: 3,466
Default


Just want to throw in my penny....


Hardwire is what I do for all networks, because EVERYTHING is on the network, and it needs to be not just stable, but able to operate at gig speeds, which wireless will not do.


To the OP. You MAY have saved around $150.00. But it really depends on how it was done.
ktkelly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 05:35 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ktkelly View Post
Just want to throw in my penny....


Hardwire is what I do for all networks, because EVERYTHING is on the network, and it needs to be not just stable, but able to operate at gig speeds, which wireless will not do.


To the OP. You MAY have saved around $150.00. But it really depends on how it was done.
Wireless does do gig speeds. With Wireless-N multi-antenna and Wireless-ac. You can pull 1.3gbps or more, depending on the file type and distance.

In a residence, Mixed form networking is better. As I had mentioned before, you can run minimal Cat-5e/6 runs for just those items that are Access Points, Switches, devices that use Wireless-G only. Everything else can be done with Wireless-N & AC.

You are now seeing even Ethernet over Power exceeding 500mbps.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
basement , cable , fish


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wet basement - don't know where to start konradsa Building & Construction 17 09-20-2011 10:08 AM
Inside Walls Cable Fishing/Routing tk3000 Building & Construction 9 07-05-2011 08:15 AM
Running cable to unfinished basement delhux Electrical 5 02-20-2011 02:54 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM
CABLE for TV in basement DIY4EVER Electrical 5 06-19-2007 06:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts