Double Feed Question. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 12:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 103
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Double feed question.


Hi all, hope you're enjoying your weekend and not trying to fight off the flu like me!

The reason for this post is about a double-feed situation. Here's what happened. During my basement electrical rough-in, I tapped into an existing feed for a new wall and 2 piece bath from an existing circuit which I thought had only 5 devices on it. It turns out it's nearly maxed out as it is, and I would be overloading the circuit. So, I ran a new feed to the wall but to the opposite end. So now it's fed twice.

Is this an issue?
mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2013, 02:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,399
Rewards Points: 17,936
Default


Bathrooms need there own 20 amp circut, the circut can not be shared, both light and outlets can be on the same circut.
Outlets need to be GFI.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2013, 02:21 PM   #3
Engineer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 191
Rewards Points: 161
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by mlijoi View Post
Hi all, hope you're enjoying your weekend and not trying to fight off the flu like me!

The reason for this post is about a double-feed situation. Here's what happened. During my basement electrical rough-in, I tapped into an existing feed for a new wall and 2 piece bath from an existing circuit which I thought had only 5 devices on it. It turns out it's nearly maxed out as it is, and I would be overloading the circuit. So, I ran a new feed to the wall but to the opposite end. So now it's fed twice.

Is this an issue?
What exactly is "fed twice?" You need to disconnect your first run to the bathroom as the bathroom needs to be a dedicated circuit. By your terminology, and phrasing, it doesn't sound like you're too familiar with electrical and code.
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2013, 04:32 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Keep in mind the OP is from Canada. I know their bathroom codes are different than NEC codes. A "double feed" can be a very bad thing.

-Turn off the breaker, think the circuit is dead, and it isn't
-BOOM! Circuit is fed from opposite legs.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:34 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,000
Rewards Points: 692
Default


The poster is from Canada which has different bath requirements than the NEC.

Disconnect the first feed you installed. Now that was't hard.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 305
Rewards Points: 320
Default


In addition to the code issues you cannot feed the circuit twice. Any time you run a new feed to an existing circuit you need to disconnect the original feed.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
Boiler water feed and aquastat question timothy918 HVAC 4 01-29-2011 07:24 PM
Double feed problem jbsayad Electrical 2 06-05-2009 10:25 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
feed back voltage when using double breaker sluggermike Electrical 59 09-20-2007 02:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts