Door Lights: Do They Need Their Own Junction Box? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-20-2010, 02:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 151
Default

Door lights: Do they need their own junction box?


I'm replacing my existing door lights (as part of a massive residing project). The lights to the side of the entrance doors to the house and to the side of the garage.

They're all the basic door lantern, except for the front door which is a little bigger.

Previously, they *all* just have a wire hanging out of the house through a small hole which were then just twist-connected onto the wires of the light hidden in its base against the wall.

I was warned though that the "new codes" require that a junction box be recessed into the wall. And THAT is what the light is supposed to be attached to.

Is this true? I cannot find mention of it anywhere, though to be honest, I'm terrible at reading building/electrical/etc. codes. Can I legally & safely just connect those wires in the back in a weather protected fashion and call it a day?

THANKS!!!!
tgm1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2010, 03:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Yes, all 120v+ light fixtures require a junction box. On an exterior light, you can cut a recessed box in or you can use a 4" pancake box. The pancake is thin enuf so you just have to cut into the siding
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2010, 10:40 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


It depends on the fixture. Boxes are not always required.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2010, 10:46 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
It depends on the fixture. Boxes are not always required.
This is true, but in my experience this is only about .01% Of the time with typical residential fixtures.


Also, this is absolutely NOT a "new" code. Your existing lights were most likely a violation.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 305
Rewards Points: 320
Default


I usually use siding blocks like these......


ttp://www.arlcatalog.com/Siding/siding.pdf

Some of them have a built in box with a cable clamp and eliminate the need to cut in a pancake box.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable? diymonkey Electrical 33 04-09-2009 07:24 AM
Light Fixture installed-no junction box? AdamsHouseCat Electrical 7 02-02-2009 11:03 AM
Junction Question? fw2007 Electrical 10 03-31-2008 11:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts