Does These Power Supplies Match? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-07-2017, 12:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Does these power supplies match?


I need to replace a damaged 24V DC power supply for a water pump. The PSU's specs are:

Input: 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 2.5A
Output: 24V = 5.0A


Can I use a power supply with the following specs, even if the input amps rating does not match?

Input: 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 0.3A
Output: 24V = 5.0A



Thanks in advance.
pacificdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2017, 01:07 PM   #2
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,245
Rewards Points: 582
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pacificdiver View Post
I need to replace a damaged 24V DC power supply for a water pump. The PSU's specs are:

Input: 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 2.5A
Output: 24V = 5.0A


Can I use a power supply with the following specs, even if the input amps rating does not match?

Input: 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 0.3A
Output: 24V = 5.0A



Thanks in advance.
I would say no. The output current is the same. But the input current is going to be much higher if this power supply see's 5 amps.
Does it have a fuse? Input fuse?
If the answer is yes, you can try it.

You should be able to find one thats much closer than this.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
pacificdiver (01-07-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2017, 01:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pacificdiver View Post
I need to replace a damaged 24V DC power supply for a water pump. The PSU's specs are:

Input: 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 2.5A
Output: 24V = 5.0A


Can I use a power supply with the following specs, even if the input amps rating does not match?

Input: 100-240V~ 50/60Hz 0.3A
Output: 24V = 5.0A



Thanks in advance.
The first one is very inefficient, so yes you'll find some with lower input ratings.

The second one is either a magical box or there's a typo somewhere. 1.3A sounds a bit more reasonable, unless it's from Europe and it's rated at 240v.. Then 0.6A is reasonable. Both are reasonable typos.

Cheers!

Last edited by supers05; 01-07-2017 at 01:16 PM.
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to supers05 For This Useful Post:
pacificdiver (01-07-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2017, 01:36 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


Is it possible that the manufacturer screwed up the Amp rating for the input? I can't post a photo with my current status, but the input rating is definitely 0.3A printed on the unit. It's chinese made, so stranger things have happened. Could it be 3.0A?
pacificdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 02:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,993
Rewards Points: 1,882
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


They definately screwed up the label.

Assuming 120v input, it has to be 1.0 amp at 100% efficiency. Since we know it can't be 100% effecient, it would have to be more. Whether 1.3 or 3.0, I can't tell you.

While there is a lot of decent stuff that comes from China, there is also a lot of el cheapo garbage being peddled by less than honorable mfgs, middle men,etc.

Does it have an NRTL label or sticker? If it doesn't, I wouldn't permanently connect it or plug it into my electric system on a long term basis.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
pacificdiver (01-07-2017)
Old 01-07-2017, 02:10 PM   #6
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,342
Rewards Points: 31,986
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


The output rating it the important one. If it can supply 24 volts at 5 amps it will be a valid replacement.
Are you sure it is a DC supply? Usually they will say 24VDC not just 24V.

Last edited by joed; 01-07-2017 at 02:12 PM. Reason: typo
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
pacificdiver (01-07-2017)
Old 01-07-2017, 03:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


Make sure that it has a UL or similar listing. Output rating is output rating, as long as they aren't lying.... (I've seen it before for the real cheap import stuff. USB chargers rated for 2A that barely make 0.5A continuously)

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 07:37 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


Quote:
Originally Posted by supers05 View Post
Make sure that it has a UL or similar listing. Output rating is output rating, as long as they aren't lying.... (I've seen it before for the real cheap import stuff. USB chargers rated for 2A that barely make 0.5A continuously)

Cheers!
I found one unit with matching output that has "CE" and "FC" printed on the label. No UL listing. Are these acceptable or comparable to UL approval for electronics? Is fraud common with labeling? Thanks for all the helpful input from everyone.
pacificdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 07:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,058
Rewards Points: 80
Default

Re: Does these power supplies match?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pacificdiver View Post
I found one unit with matching output that has "CE" and "FC" printed on the label. No UL listing. Are these acceptable or comparable to UL approval for electronics? Is fraud common with labeling? Thanks for all the helpful input from everyone.
Fraud does happen. Ironically, it's usually locals that get caught doing it....

CE is a European listing.

FC is probably actually FCC (the second C is nested inside the first.) It's a US listing. It should be fine.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
ac/dc adapter , power bar , power brick , power supply , psu


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power tool safety tips ec0warrior Safety 4 12-21-2016 04:01 AM
Power Strip as a power switch for multiple LEDs? dbz123 Electrical 4 06-12-2016 07:02 AM
I changed light switch now no power in 2 rooms jigsaww Electrical 15 05-02-2016 10:45 AM
Solar at the cottage? Tito1800 Home Theater 2 01-18-2012 02:30 PM
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 09:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts