Does NM Clamp Exist For This Situation? - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-13-2014, 06:31 PM   #31
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by daveblt View Post
Is there any particular reason for the 12/2 romex for a ceiling fixture ?
Probably because it is on a 20A breaker.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
ritelec (11-13-2014), stickboy1375 (11-13-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2014, 06:57 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 219
Default


I'm not exactly sure what kind of fixture I'm putting there yet. It's over where I want a work-bench in the garage. I have a few under consideration and will hopefully settle on something soon. It is a 20amp breaker. I've run a bunch of new receptacles and some new lighting to a new sub-panel. Originally I only had one 15amp receptacle in the entire garage.

I appreciate everyone's input on this.
Jim Ignatowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2014, 08:23 PM   #33
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,936
Rewards Points: 3,840
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
Hold on.


If I wanted to do this across my finished basement or I wanted to do this across my dining I couldn't.
Would you like to cite the code that says you can't?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2014, 08:24 PM   #34
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,628
Rewards Points: 6,802
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Would you like to cite the code that says you can't?
I'm guessing the wife code!
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
ritelec (11-13-2014), stickboy1375 (11-13-2014)
Old 11-13-2014, 08:40 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Would you like to cite the code that says you can't?
I can't cite a code that says I can't.
My statement is that I can if I want. I could even paint it hot pink if I choose.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 08:45 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
Hold on.


If I wanted to do this across my finished basement or I wanted to do this across my dining I couldn't ?

The "?" makes all the difference. Sorry about the miss understanding
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 10:07 PM   #37
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 262
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
I can't cite a code that says I can't.
My statement is that I can if I want. I could even paint it hot pink if I choose.
And use a bushing too.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 10:29 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 139
Default


In relation to NM though conduit. I could be completely wrong.

The 2014 NEC Article 334.15 requires NM cable to be sleeved though conduit when necessary to protect the cable from physical damage. Jump-Start specifically quoted 334.15 (c) of that article.

It doesn't specify minimums or maximums for the sleeve. So I guess if you can convince the AHJ that the NM cable in the conduit is being protected from damage as required by Article 334.15, then it is permissible. But do you really want to do enter that gray area with the AHJ?
b4bhomeowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:52 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


It's just another wiring method. Hot neutral ground in a cable in a conduit instead of three separate conductors like using thhn in a conduit Only thing is because of the labeling you can't remove the sheath ( or at least you're not supposed to )
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 06:54 AM   #40
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,559
Rewards Points: 5,374
Default


There is no gray area. Unless there is a prohibition to an installation it is permissible.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
clamp , conduit , romex


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some items work, some items don't (or a very wacky situation) gameboy9 Electrical 21 04-22-2013 10:50 AM
possible violation- 2 cables in single clamp? drgkjd Electrical 5 05-29-2010 04:06 PM
Clamp Meter Findings jamiedolan Electrical 16 09-08-2008 08:13 PM
Challenging situation, please help. jaes HVAC 4 07-06-2008 06:48 AM
Clamp on Amp Tester Help stagger19 Electrical 3 03-07-2007 08:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts