Does NM Clamp Exist For This Situation? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-13-2014, 04:31 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Again. If I had an intact conduit system. I could not sleeve an Un stripped piece of nm through it. Five feet or ninety five feet?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2014, 04:45 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Alls good. I can run it through my dining room.

334.10. In dwelling unit
(A) concealed

334.15 (B) protected from physical damage (emt)
No mention of location or length

(C) is as it applies if just sleeved at the end like down the wall for protection. Pointing out securing it within 12 inches of the conduit. If it is a system box to box no need to secure
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2014, 04:49 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
I think you are ok. Short sections are allowed by code. As long as the cable is secured where it enters the conduit you are ok.
Not busting horns. Where does it say short section and what is the length of the short section?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2014, 05:05 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ignatowski View Post
So as long as it's clamped as it enters the conduit, it doesn't need to be secured at the fixture box? It's already been secured where it enters the conduit.
I use the from to connectors also. But no from to or clamp is required. Just a strap or staple before it enters the conduit.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:13 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 121
Rewards Points: 226
Default


Is there any particular reason for the 12/2 romex for a ceiling fixture ?
daveblt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:21 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,597
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default


I wouldn't worry about it. What type of fixture are you using?
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:26 PM   #22
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,559
Rewards Points: 5,374
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
The cable does not need to be secured in the box since that takes place where the cable enters. As long as the transition bushing is inplace you are ok.

As for the box itself this would be a nice compliment against the metal edges:


http://www.homedepot.com/p/Halex-3-4...vZbohkZ1z117wk
Bushings are not required for NM type cables. The sheathing protects the conductors.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (11-13-2014)
Old 11-13-2014, 05:27 PM   #23
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,559
Rewards Points: 5,374
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
Not busting horns. Where does it say short section and what is the length of the short section?
It doesn't.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
ritelec (11-13-2014)
Old 11-13-2014, 05:41 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Bushings are not required for NM type cables. The sheathing protects the conductors.
I know, but I toss one on anyway. A good idea.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:58 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
Not busting horns. Where does it say short section and what is the length of the short section?


It doesn't make reference to short sections but gives specifics on it. I will see if I can find the code sections.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:03 PM   #26
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
I know, but I toss one on anyway. A good idea.
In your opinion, but it's not required, nor serves any purpose except to make you feel warm and happy.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:04 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
In your opinion, but it's not required, nor serves any purpose except to make you feel warm and happy.
Yes, from a code perspective not required for NM or that size of wire. Since when is DIY chatroom the race to code minimum?
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:05 PM   #28
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 204
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ignatowski View Post
So as long as it's clamped as it enters the conduit, it doesn't need to be secured at the fixture box? It's already been secured where it enters the conduit.
The cable is considered supported and secured because it's in pipe so like the others said you do not need a clamp in the box.
__________________
"Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem."
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:06 PM   #29
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jump-start View Post
Yes, from a code perspective not required for NM or that size of wire. Since when is DIY chatroom the race to the code minimum?
The bushing serves no purpose, I never mentioned anything about code.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:07 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
The bushing serves no purpose, I never mentioned anything about code.
''Not required" I thought you meant code.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
clamp , conduit , romex


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some items work, some items don't (or a very wacky situation) gameboy9 Electrical 21 04-22-2013 10:50 AM
possible violation- 2 cables in single clamp? drgkjd Electrical 5 05-29-2010 04:06 PM
Clamp Meter Findings jamiedolan Electrical 16 09-08-2008 08:13 PM
Challenging situation, please help. jaes HVAC 4 07-06-2008 06:48 AM
Clamp on Amp Tester Help stagger19 Electrical 3 03-07-2007 08:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts