Do I Need Conduit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-30-2010, 09:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 91
Default

Do I need conduit


I am going to be running a dedicated 20 amp line from a panel for a washing machine. The run is about 35-40 feet. The wire will be in the attic. Is it "legal" per NEC to just run the Romex? in the attic and staple along the way without using some type of conduit to enclose the wire?

Thanks
drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2010, 09:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Where are you located ?

In most cases yes you can just use romex



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2010, 09:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 91
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Where are you located ?

In most cases yes you can just use romex

I'm new to all this. BTW: I assume it's OK to use a 20 amp breaker if I use correct guage wire? Most of the circuits in this older house are 15 amp. I do know I CANNOT install a 20 amp breaker with wire sized for 15 amp.t

Located in Ocala, Fl. Thanks for your help.
drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2010, 10:02 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


The laundry circuit needs to be 20 amp by code.

The wire will need to be protected within 6' of the attic scuttle or within 7' if the attic has stairs.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 91
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The laundry circuit needs to be 20 amp by code.

The wire will need to be protected within 6' of the attic scuttle or within 7' if the attic has stairs.

Scuttle?? So does this mean conduit or not.
drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:18 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


Scuttle = access panel.

The protection can come from running boards or a suitable conduit type.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:58 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 91
Default


Thanks, Jim
drjay9051 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit - custom offset or bending tns1 Electrical 25 08-29-2011 05:56 PM
How to plug unwanted and leaking conduit? gernith General DIY Discussions 6 08-08-2010 12:09 PM
Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit Intravartolo Electrical 4 07-26-2010 01:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 06:49 PM
Sheathing/siding around conduit destroyer427 Building & Construction 1 10-20-2009 05:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts