Do I Need Armored 14/2? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-17-2010, 09:38 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Do I need Armored 14/2?


I have 2 exterior lights at the front door of my house - that are connected with Aluminum wiring. after pulling back the insulation (re-insulating the room), I found the 'sleeves' of the wiring to be chewed off (most likely mice).

I was therefore planning on replacing the wiring with copper 14/2 romex. before I call for my rough in inspection, I wasn't sure if I need to run armored 14/2 or would the plastic do.

exterior wall, wire goes through plywood, then into an electrical box that's been masoned into the exterior brickwork.

Thanks in advance!

here's some pictures of the current state to better explain ...
Attached Thumbnails
Do I need Armored 14/2?-p1060054-w768.jpg   Do I need Armored 14/2?-p1060055-w768.jpg   Do I need Armored 14/2?-p1060056-w768.jpg  
njchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-17-2010, 09:50 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


I see no reason for you to need to use armored cable in place of non-metallic cables. The cable will be protected from damaged once the drywall is reinstalled.

I would work on controlling your mouse population.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-17-2010, 11:37 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Where are you located ?

The only place I know that requires armored is around Chicago area
Check for local codes



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-17-2010, 12:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I see no reason for you to need to use armored cable in place of non-metallic cables. The cable will be protected from damaged once the drywall is reinstalled.

I would work on controlling your mouse population.
thanks! ... I'm working on the mice thing - we haven't seen any over the last year - we have 3 dogs, and i'm contributing the efforts to them (no cats - allergic).

thanks for the info on the armored cable - I sent a message to the ESA (electrical safety authority - here in Canada) - hope to hear back from them shortly.

[edit]
WHOAH! ... on the ESA website you can submit questions about wiring - it says 3-5 business days to respond ... after I posted my question I got an email back from them ...

Recently we have experienced a very high volume of questions asked and we are currently running a backlog of approximately 6 weeks in answering. We are endeavouring to clear the backlog as quickly as possible and we thank you for your patience in this matter.
njchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
armored cable inside closet? 205bhamjim Electrical 2 02-27-2010 11:50 AM
Wire a 4-way light circuit with 14/2 HooKooDooKu Electrical 22 01-28-2010 02:31 PM
When is 14/2 with ground, 14/2 with ground? sluggermike Electrical 10 12-03-2009 08:39 PM
NM to Armored Cable Transition? toddmanqa Electrical 8 10-31-2008 03:29 PM
Grounding outlet to armored cable - fine? voltage2 Electrical 14 02-18-2008 11:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts