Dimmer Switch Is Warm Even When Lights Are Off! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-22-2010, 03:43 AM   #16
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default


It seems that the only difference is the slave units allow for multiple location dimming. I'm not sure about the heat on the dimmer when it's off. Do you have a way of measuring the temperature on the dimmer? If you do, let the manufacturer know of your concerns and they'll let you know if it's within specs.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2010, 03:51 AM   #17
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Somehow with the dimmer you describing I have see that in couple spots in France { yeah I am in France }

You will need Master and Slave units to order to get working in 2 way { 3 way for North Americian readers } function correct.

Now next step is where is your power point at the first point or second point ? or on switch spur { switch loop } that will affect the performace of the dimmer function.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-25-2010, 07:10 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I ended up buying the 400w master dimmer and the slave switch and all works well, the master dimmer is only very slightly warm now when all lights are off, maybe this is due to the switches soft start as I can control them by my remote control?
gonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I connect one switch to 3 lights? Dorkus Electrical 9 09-27-2009 10:08 PM
HowTo: Adding two exterior lights + switch, piggyback new switch off existing switch? ghost Electrical 14 04-19-2009 05:04 PM
Weird problem replacing dimmer switch cdale600 Electrical 9 01-20-2009 08:31 AM
dimmer switch twilight zone sloopy2 Electrical 7 01-18-2009 05:22 PM
Home interior dimmer switch waltersawicki Electrical 2 10-21-2008 06:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts