Diminishing (?)power To Fountain - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-17-2010, 11:30 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Diminishing (?)power to fountain

For the past year or more, my outdoor fountain has seemed to be losing flow velocity over a period of a few days. As I am writing this, I have replaced both the fountain's 15 amp ground fault switch and the pump in the last 10 days. (I didn't actually replace it; I'm a nurse...I just hired someone to do it.)
It runs well for about 36 hours and then the flow begins to slow down...after about 2-3 days, it has slowed to a trickle. However, when I reset the ground fault switch, it is "cured"...at least for another 3 days. I have had one electrician and one handyman friend look at it, and they don't understand it and can't suggest anything further.
I would appreciate any suggestion...even if you can just tell me what kind contractor or tradesperson to call.
MP-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-17-2010, 11:59 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

How far is the distance between the pump & the breaker panel
What size wire is used ?
How is the wire run...direct burial, conduit ?
What size pump, power draw, specs ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-17-2010, 01:30 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by MP-R View Post
It runs well for about 36 hours and then the flow begins to slow down...after about 2-3 days, it has slowed to a trickle. However, when I reset the ground fault switch, it is "cured"...at least for another 3 days.
What I don't understand is what would take 3 days to happen.
Does the flow actually stop?
If you unpower it for a while, does that also clear the condition?
If you have a meter, measure the voltage at the pump's plug while the fault is present.