Detatched Garage Sub Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-02-2009, 10:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,238
Rewards Points: 76
Default

detatched garage sub panel


A friend asked me to help him install a sub panel in his garage. I installed one in my garage about a year ago so I know how to do it but need some help on wire sizing. He has a 100 amp panel in his house and would like a 60 amp in the garage, is there any problem with this? It's probably a 60-70 ft run. What size wire would I need for this? Is 6 gauge good or would I have to use 4 gauge(copper) due to length of wire? Also what size would I need if I end up using aluminum, if it's cheaper? Also what is the most cost effective type of wire to run? Is it usually cheaper to use conduit and wire or just use direct burial wire? Thanks for your advise on this
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


#6 copper wire is fine for 60a sub panel
(2) #6 black hots
(1) #6 white - not remarked
(1) ground - I used #8 for mine
Grounding rod(s) will be required for detached structure

What does he have for electric use in the house?
Has a total load calc been done for the whole house?

I prefer buried in conduit - easier to change wire of anything ever happens
Max 360 degree of bends between pull points
I prefer not to use Alum



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2009, 11:40 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,238
Rewards Points: 76
Default


He has a 100 amp panel in the house. How is a whole house load calculation done? Thanks.
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2009, 05:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,238
Rewards Points: 76
Default


Can anyone tell me how to figure out the total load calculation?

Also is it alright to put a 60 amp breaker/subpanel off a 100 amp panel?

For a 60-70 ft run 6 gauge copper is alright, and what gauge aluminum?

Thanks
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 05:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I had a nice link to an Excel spreadsheet, but can't find it

Whole house load calc:

http://ecmweb.com/mag/electric_dwell...feederservice/

http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/home-...ation-2002.php

Well - this isn't the excel spreadsheet I used:

http://www.mikeholt.com/documents/ca...lculations.xls



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detached Garage Sub Panel Grounding Q integlikewhoa Electrical 15 03-12-2015 07:02 PM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
rewiring garage - adding sub panel wombosi Electrical 3 05-28-2009 10:08 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Detached Garage Sub Panel MainePainter Electrical 6 08-25-2006 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts