Derating When >2 Wires Together - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-30-2010, 04:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Derating when >2 Wires together


I've already mentioned about my workshop circuits where I ran 10/2 & 12/2 for a 20 amp & 15 amp circuit. At one point, the circuit runs through some studs. When I drilled the holes for the studs, I drilled them to the max size allowed (at the time, I looked it up and I beleieve that was 3/4") because I expect to run another wire through the same hole when I wire the den on the other side of the wall.

But as I understand it, if you have more than 2 cables running through studs together (in this case for a distance of about 6'-8'), you are supposed to derate the cables.

While I don't have the tables to show how to derate the cables, I assume that by having them one size larger than required, I'm already good for the current circuits.

But what about when I add the third? I plan it to be a 20 amp circuit. Am I going to HAVE to use 10/2 for the 20 amp circuit (at least for the part that runs through the wall with these other two cables)?
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 04:29 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


You do not have a problem. It is only when you get more than 9 conductors that derating affects the breaker/wire size. And with cable, it will only have an effect if you apply fire caulk to the hole.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 14 01-10-2015 09:08 AM
Can't find the wires! brianmarsh Home Theater 2 01-24-2010 07:11 AM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts