Deck Heater Sparks!! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-14-2009, 10:34 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

deck heater sparks!!

Hi,

I'm a newbie and I posted the below thread in my intro. Just thought I should also post it here as well:

"I bought an electric outdoor patio heater. It's rated at 13A with a max 1500 watts. However, every time I plug it in I see a spark in the outlet. It is not fitted with a switch (which is backwards IMO - made in China), so every time it's plugged in it draws the full 1500W (or more I assume).

My question is this: is there an interrupter I can get for it so as to create a gradual draw when I turn it on.

FYI: instructions on package say it can be plugged into a regular 120v outlet. I have been plugging it into a dedicated outlet (on its own breaker) without anything else on the same and stll I see that spark.

Once its on, its fine, but I hate seeing that spark when I plug it in; it once even tripped the breaker. Just to clarify, this is not a small spark; enough that even my wife won't plug it in!"

Thanking all in advance for any feedback.
Franky123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-14-2009, 11:05 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Wire a switch up to the outlet
Turn it off before plugging the heater in
You could even break the tabs off so that one side of the outlet is hot all the time & the other is switched

Is this outlet GFCI protected?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-14-2009, 11:11 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 370

Turn off the heater before you plug it in. If it has no switch or thermostat it is not UL rated and should be fixed or thrown away. The T-Stat may be the switch
Advertisement

Old 10-14-2009, 11:20 AM   #4