Dead Plug - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-30-2010, 10:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dead plug


have a two plug outside elctical outlet, worked at holloween, can't get Christmas decorations to work, dead plug. Tried breaker box, all right...........hmmm?
dinosaur863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2010, 10:12 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Flip all of your breakers to the OFF position and then back ON. It's good to exercise them once a year anyway. Check for any GFCI breaker, if you find one, press the RESET button. If this doesn't help, go looking around your basement, then garage, then first floor bathroom for a GFCI receptacle. Any time you see one, press the TEST button and then press the RESET button.

Hopefully this will fix your issue.
VersaBar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2010, 10:20 PM   #3
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,903
Rewards Points: 1,716
Default


that question reminds me of the Christmas Vacaton movie where the receptacle was turned off by a wall switch and many hours and many mishaps later they discover the switch, great stuff, very funny movie
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2010, 11:25 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by hardwareman View Post
that question reminds me of the Christmas Vacaton movie where the receptacle was turned off by a wall switch and many hours and many mishaps later they discover the switch, great stuff, very funny movie
That was a funny movie. But I put my money the GFCI receptacle is tripped.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:19 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dead plug


Grrrrrrrrrrr, lol* nope did not work...............crazy because the two plugs are outside, we had Haloween pumpkin pluged in and it worked, now we get set to do the Christmas stuff, they don't work..........rats
dinosaur863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:44 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Are you sure it's the outlets? Have you tried a 'known to be working' lamp/tool or something similar?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:59 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outlets.........


Pretty sure, first thing I did (and several times since) was to plug in small desk lamp to both sockets, they are covered like all outside plugs........did all the re-set suggestions and breakers..........still doesn't work..........is it possible all the 'magic' just wore out? lol*........even called former owner.............he said sohuld be working fine, never had proble.........?
dinosaur863 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 02:19 PM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Next step if it were me would be cut the breaker, pull the outlet and inspect.
It might be one of those stupid "backstabbed" outlets and the wire(s) just came off!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving Electric Range Plug dmartins Electrical 3 11-23-2010 07:48 AM
Replacement plug for an old box freezer brich Electrical 1 05-11-2010 06:44 AM
removed old romex (added new wire) and added a plug doesn't work now? Limit54 Electrical 9 11-08-2009 09:03 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts