Damage From Tree On Power Lines - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-26-2009, 10:03 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
Not necessarily

Almost certainly not. It would depend on the POCO rules. Around here, the mast must be continuous from below the topmost support under the eave to the top. (As memory serves) Putting a coupling in the attic would just provide a weak spot.
Thanks. Actually, I just found the local POCO requirements and it says no coupling to 30 inches below the roof. I'm sure my attic is not deep enough for that.

Btw, homeowners insurance is not an option (big deductible and, besides, they explicitly exclude weather-related things).

A 30% chance of rain today, a 60% chance tonight, and a 4" hole in the roof---not a good combination. And I'm not going to touch that periscope thing while the power lines are connected, so I think I've got no choice but to get the utility company out here to disconnect the wires today. Looks like we'll probably be off the grid for a while. Fortunately, we do have decent generator and a good supply of propane...
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2009, 01:04 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is this normal?


I removed the panel that covers the back of the meter and I've attached a picture. I'm wondering where those small wires come from and if they should be there. I thought this conduit was only supposed to contain those big wires that come in from the outside. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Damage from tree on power lines-box.jpg  
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2009, 01:32 PM   #33
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,811
Rewards Points: 23,964
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Those wires are too small to be a service conductors. I think those are for something else.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2009, 02:19 PM   #34
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


something looks a little fishy there. I also see only 2 large conductors. Is that correct? It's hard to tell from the pic but are those larger conductors the same size as what is coming out the top of the riser?


and where does that NM (the smaller wires) go to? It doesn't look like it goes into the meter.

and how does the feed leave the meter and go to the panel. I can't say I have ever seen an installation like you have there. Most POCO's would frown on it since it would allow an illegal tap prior to the meter for an adventurous soul. From what I can see, it appears your riser is actually inside the wall. Is that correct?

btw: you need a plastic bushing on the end of that pipe.

From the area around the wall, it appears this is an older house. Here is what I suspect might have happened:

the original house had a 40 or 60 amp service and was upgraded to a 100 amp service. The 1" pipe (that is what it looks like to me anyway) was probably not large enough for the type of wire they used so they ran the smaller wires for the neutral wire and make a joint in it, in the mast or in the weather head. Not a good thing.

So, depending on the type and size of wire you use, you might need a larger conduit. 1" is legally large enough for 3 conductors of certain types that are large enough for a 100 amp service but I would still strongly urge you to change out the pipe to at least 1 1/4" (1 1/2" or even 2" would be even better) (although it is a lot more work. Whatever pipe you run has to be strong enough to hold the cable the POCO attaches to it and not break like you have now.

Last edited by nap; 12-26-2009 at 02:34 PM.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:39 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I went back & looked at the 1st pics
I only see 2 main wires going to the weatherhead ?
Maybe its a just the angle of the pic ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:51 PM   #36
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I went back & looked at the 1st pics
I only see 2 main wires going to the weatherhead ?
Maybe its a just the angle of the pic ?

look at the second pic. The one with the white tape is the neutral. It connects to the bare conductor coming from the POCO.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:21 PM   #37
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


In that pull box I can see two large conductors look like 70mm˛(2/0AWG) but can not see the netual conductor if not there then you just open up new cans of worm that will raise serious issue.

for two conductors 4.0mm˛(12awg) I think they are used for TOU { time of use } circuit for relay or contractor to control either electric water heater or Central Air unit. { one of two or both }

Now speaking of coupling on 2 inch ridge conduit my POCO in Wisconsin say no coupling at the top 30 to 48 inches depending on how high the mast produded thru the roof and anything more than 30 inches popped thru the roof it must backguyed to support the weight of conductors plus weight of ice in case it show up { yeah It can happened }

In France the conduit it must have 1.5 meter on the top part no coupling at all and mantory backguyed unless you are close to the power post.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:33 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default


French Do you mean a type of energy system from the power company to let certain appliances run at predetermined time of day and night?

My parents had something like that in FL from the power company.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:44 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
look at the second pic. The one with the white tape is the neutral. It connects to the bare conductor coming from the POCO.
AH....did not know they could use a bare wire
I thought that wire was for strain relief



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:45 PM   #40
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Sultini.,

The answer is yes Many POCO have this option due some devices can run at diffrent time due the electric rates are cheaper like during off peak hours the rates can be much cheaper something like example
On peak time 10cent per KWH
Off peak time 4 cent per KWH

something like that will make the diffrence on rates.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:01 PM   #41
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
In that pull box I can see two large conductors look like 70mm˛(2/0AWG) but can not see the netual conductor if not there then you just open up new cans of worm that will raise serious issue.

for two conductors 4.0mm˛(12awg) I think they are used for TOU { time of use } circuit for relay or contractor to control either electric water heater or Central Air unit. { one of two or both }

c
I know what you are speaking of with the timed usage but since I did not see a full sized neut, I suspect the small wires got used for the neut. especially if you are correct with the 2/0. If you are, you cannot even put 2 2/0 wires in a 1" legally.

So, boob, what size of a service do you have? and if there is any chance of reusing the wire you have, what size is it and what material (aluminum or copper)?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:18 PM   #42
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Thanks Nap for bringing it up and I have a feeling something is fishy with this set up.,

JHB., Can you take a photo of your load centre ? if so that will be great that will really help us a bit here.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 07:00 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Thanks Nap for bringing it up and I have a feeling something is fishy with this set up.,

JHB., Can you take a photo of your load centre ? if so that will be great that will really help us a bit here.

Merci,Marc
Nap: the conduit is 1.5 inch.

French: Here in California, we do pay different rates depending on time of day (the two rates being "absurdly high" and "ridiculously high"...) And, what is the "load center"? I'll be glad to post some more pictures, as long as I can figure out what to photograph.

My first impression was that this looks pretty fishy, but, of course, I've never looked at anything like this before, so I was hoping that I was wrong about that.
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 07:05 PM   #44
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD View Post
Nap: the conduit is 1.5 inch.

French: Here in California, we do pay different rates depending on time of day (the two rates being "absurdly high" and "ridiculously high"...) And, what is the "load center"? I'll be glad to post some more pictures, as long as I can figure out what to photograph.

My first impression was that this looks pretty fishy, but, of course, I've never looked at anything like this before, so I was hoping that I was wrong about that.

Try my French electrical rates you will fall off the chair the worst rate will be on Rouge jour { Red day } the rate will be the highest typically about 25 cent per Kwh otherwise normal rate is about 8 to 10 cent per KWH

the load centre which I refering to the breaker box take the cover off very carefully then take the photo of it espcally with main conductor so we can see where this going due you allready have pull box open so it will give you the general idea where it goes.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 07:09 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Say, I just looked again and there are actually 3 of the big fat black wires at the lower end of the conduit (the last photo I posted, that is). The third one is just about impossible to see in my photo, but you can just glimpse a sliver of it between the other 2. Sorry for not clarifying that sooner...
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
OT: How do High Voltage Lines work? jamiedolan Electrical 23 08-16-2009 07:48 AM
Birds and Power Lines scott123 Electrical 5 07-09-2009 10:51 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts