Covering A Junction Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-21-2010, 04:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Covering a junction box


Hello,
I have old electric baseboard heater that I no longer use. The control panel on the wall is very old and unsightly. I'd like to cover it up with simple wall plate. When I opened it up, I saw two seperate cables in the box. Each had a black, white and ground. In order to put this all back unconnected to anything safely, how should I connect the wires before shoving them back in the box (for example: should I connect the white to the white and the black to the black?) Is it that simple?
thanks
Rfealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2010, 04:54 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rfealy View Post
Hello,
I have old electric baseboard heater that I no longer use. The control panel on the wall is very old and unsightly. I'd like to cover it up with simple wall plate. When I opened it up, I saw two seperate cables in the box. Each had a black, white and ground. In order to put this all back unconnected to anything safely, how should I connect the wires before shoving them back in the box (for example: should I connect the white to the white and the black to the black?) Is it that simple?
thanks
You should cap off the blacks and whites individually. You need to use the ground wire coming from the feed to bond the metal box. If you don't know which one, use both. Make a pigtail out of a short piece of wire, put it under a ground screw attached to the box, then splice it to both the ground wires.

Do you know where the feed for this heat comes from? Is it on a dedicated circuit? If so, as long as you properly abandon the wiring, you can cover this box completely.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Proby For This Useful Post:
Rfealy (08-21-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2010, 06:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks again Proby.
As I've said before, some of the wiring in this house is a little odd, but I finally found the dedicated fuse in a sub breaker box. I capped the wires as you said and I hope I wont find anything else that this fuse controlled if so, I guess I'll have to switch it back on. But I think the wires should be safe the way they are capped. I no longer use the heaters, but I dont want to remove them since they still work and you never know what the future holds.
thanks again.
Rfealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom Light Fixture with no junction box? shadowman Electrical 2 07-13-2010 06:54 AM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
Light Fixture installed-no junction box? AdamsHouseCat Electrical 7 02-02-2009 11:03 AM
Junction Question? fw2007 Electrical 10 03-31-2008 11:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts