Countdown Timer, 2 Wires - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-31-2010, 09:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

countdown timer, 2 wires


Hi,

I want to replace a switch with a digital countdown timer switch. The timer has three wires: black, red, white, while there are only two wires in the switch box: black and white.

The instructions say to connect black to hot, red to load and white to white.

How am I supposed to wire in this case?

thanks a lot.
olnoln is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-31-2010, 09:18 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If you only have two conductors in the switch box then you have switch loop and I know some of the electronique timers must have netural to order to functon properly.

And in your situation there is no netural at all unless you have other pair of conductors in that switch box.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2010, 09:46 AM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,818
Rewards Points: 23,978
Blog Entries: 11
Default


You have a switch loop. There is no neutral. You need a different switch or you need to pull new cable.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-01-2010, 10:01 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


There are countdown timers that do not require neutrals...like this one:

http://www.lutron.com/cms400/PageBuy...=16957&mn=1799

This one will have two terminals on it, you connect the black to one, the white to the other.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 02:53 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,818
Rewards Points: 23,978
Blog Entries: 11
Default


This no neutral won't work with CFL. Says incandescent or fan only. That means it feeds a small current through the lamp to operate.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 08:21 AM
GE Smart Digital Timer Trevis Electrical 21 09-08-2011 10:17 PM
help wiring a timer in a 3 gang light box edadmartin Electrical 3 03-14-2010 08:05 PM
Can't find the wires! brianmarsh Home Theater 2 01-24-2010 07:11 AM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts