Correct Wire Gauge - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-04-2013, 08:30 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 375
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
#4 CU Table 310.15 (B) (7)
(2011 Code) 310.15 (B) (17) shows ampacity of single insulated conductors in free air.

310.15 (B) (16) is ampacity of not more than three current carrying conductors in raceway.

In my area, the POCO will not touch a service with anything under #2 CU (even though #3 CU is rated).
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2013, 09:43 AM   #17
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


I have no way of knowing what your POCO requires, but the NEC allows #4 for a 100A resi service.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2013, 12:20 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Correct Wire Gauge


Ok, thanks KBSPARKY -that was what i figured somebody would claim.

So what are the options now (other than service change)?

Run the #4 to a subpanel with a 50amp breaker that supports #4. Then on a separate/second 50amp breaker in the subpanel connect to the 50amp in main using #6? (Note: the reason I can't just go get a different 50amp breaker to support #4 is that the load center is Federal Pacific and this is the only option I have to fit in the space that is available in the load center.

Based on the price of these UBIF breakers i could probably even go out and buy a new load center. Can anybody provide feedback on the difference between GE breakers that cost $8 and a UBIF equivalent that costs $40? I'm I really getting what I pay for, or am I paying for the cost of obsolescence?
dfelb8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2013, 12:47 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 868
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by dfelb8 View Post
Thanks Techy and Lawyer!

Toller, if I wanted to simply ignore code I wouldn't be posting at all. The intent was to find the "reason" you alluded to. The mfg does not provide one (or even a legible label for that matter) and there does not appear to be any logical reason why a little more copper would be a bad thing if the connections fit properly. Can you come up with a good technical explanation? Otherwise, for all we know I'm exceeding the requirements of the code...
If you want to know the reason, ask them; but it doesn't really matter. Exceeding the manufacturer's requirements is a code violation.
Its that simple.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling fan and wire gauge needs? greentrees Electrical 6 05-01-2012 01:05 AM
What Gauge Wire do I need? rjrivero Electrical 23 11-03-2011 04:11 PM
What gauge wire for 100 ft run? philesq Electrical 6 07-19-2011 10:50 PM
Correct type of wire for a 100 amp, 160 ft run SRedinbo Electrical 8 05-01-2011 06:18 AM
Correct gauge wire on wall heater?? Master Brian Electrical 4 11-16-2010 01:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts