Convert Single Pole Switch To A 3 Way! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 02:23 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Go to a relay with a 24 vac coil or less, it probably will be.
What would be the advantage of using 24 vac versus 120 vac?
I'm not totally happy about having the relay energized all the time, and if there was a 'ratchet' type relay, that would be ideal!
Maybe, I should rethink this! Perhaps a surface run of 'Wiremold' should be considered!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2010, 04:01 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Will these electronic switches work for you?
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-VPS15-.../dp/B001RIYQNQ
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-VP0SR-...ef=pd_sim_hi_3

Specs available at http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/xxlcf...20&st=kw&cpg=0 show that two wires are all that are needed between the VPS15 switch and the VPOSR remote.

From what I can tell, the way you would wire it up is to run power to the VPS15 switch at the bottom of the stairs, replace the existing switch with a VPOSR, and use the existing 14/2 cable to connect the two.

As I generally understand it, when you flip the VPOSR switch, that sends a single to the VPS15 telling it to toggle. In other words, the actual control of the power to the lights occurs in the VPS15. Via the VPOSR, you basically tell the VPS15 to toggle its current state.

The cost of the two switches together (excluding shipping, etc) is around $30.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2010, 04:55 PM   #18
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


Try googling "wireless 3 way switching" There are alot of wireless 3-way switches from many manufacturers available! I have never used them but I haven't heard anything bad about them either. Might be worth a shot! Here's a couple links!

http://www.smarthome.com/2531W/Wirel...-6696-W/p.aspx

http://www.smarthome.com/2533T/Wirel...HW2155D/p.aspx

http://www.google.com/products?clien...ed=0CC8QrQQwAg
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!

Last edited by sparks1up; 05-12-2010 at 05:23 PM.
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sparks1up For This Useful Post:
Wildie (05-12-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2010, 08:36 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by HooKooDooKu View Post
Will these electronic switches work for you?
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-VPS15-.../dp/B001RIYQNQ
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-VP0SR-...ef=pd_sim_hi_3

Specs available at http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/xxlcf...20&st=kw&cpg=0 show that two wires are all that are needed between the VPS15 switch and the VPOSR remote.

From what I can tell, the way you would wire it up is to run power to the VPS15 switch at the bottom of the stairs, replace the existing switch with a VPOSR, and use the existing 14/2 cable to connect the two.

As I generally understand it, when you flip the VPOSR switch, that sends a single to the VPS15 telling it to toggle. In other words, the actual control of the power to the lights occurs in the VPS15. Via the VPOSR, you basically tell the VPS15 to toggle its current state.

The cost of the two switches together (excluding shipping, etc) is around $30.
Hey, I think that you have come up with the solution. Took me a half hour to understand how they work!
It gets even better, as I was considering a 4 way switch. I think that you can have any number of remote switch's, any one of which can trigger the main, off and on!

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll explore this further and if I go this way, I'll let you know!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 10:20 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
What would be the advantage of using 24 vac versus 120 vac?
Safer and less NEC restrictions and smaller wire so it can be routed almost anywhere.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Yoyizit For This Useful Post:
Wildie (05-13-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire romex for single switch jraf Electrical 4 04-06-2010 08:46 PM
Problem w/ two 240v baseboard circuits on single double-pole switch. Skypalace Electrical 18 03-21-2010 04:16 PM
GFCI on generator tripping; home backup MrNeutron Electrical 21 07-02-2009 10:11 PM
GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo II Weeks Electrical 12 04-10-2009 05:57 PM
Replacing a single switch with 3 way switch using old wiring chriscam75 Electrical 3 02-17-2009 08:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts