Control Outlet With Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By joed
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 11-10-2017, 02:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Control outlet with switch


Hello! I need help please! I have a switch that should be controlling an outlet so I can turn the lamp on and off but the problem is that it is always hot.
The pictures for the switch are 1 and 2 attached

The pictures for the outlet are 3,4,5,6 attached

I know that I need to connect the red to the outlet so it only goes hot when the switch is on but I tried that and disconnected the black and it doesn't work. There are 3 sources going into the box for the outlet, one on the right and two on the left. The two on the left has one hidden behind it that has black, white, and ground coming out, and the one in front that can be seen has black, white, red, and ground. Assuming black and red are hot and white is neutral, how could I connect the outlet to get the switch to work. I think there are also other outlets that the red line goes through but the power is being passed down. Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Control outlet with switch-1.jpeg   Control outlet with switch-2.jpeg   Control outlet with switch-3.jpeg   Control outlet with switch-4.jpeg   Control outlet with switch-5.jpeg  

Control outlet with switch-6.jpeg  
goku7310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2017, 02:23 PM   #2
Deleted Member
 
Shadow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 540
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


looks like only one hot for it
Shadow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2017, 02:25 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,298
Rewards Points: 31,904
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


Looks like you have a three way switch with a switch loop.
At the receptacle you have a white connected with some blacks. You need to take the black that comes from the same cable as the white and connect that to the receptacle gold screw. If you want the whole receptacle (both plugs) switched then you need to remove the black pigtail.
If you only want half the receptacle switched then you need to remove the tab between the two gold screws.
47_47 likes this.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
goku7310 (11-10-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2017, 03:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


Thanks a lot Joe!
But still need some help, the switch works now as it wasn't before, but the problem is now the switch controls ALL of the outlets in my living room, 4 of them. So when I turn it off the whole living room has no power. Anything else I can do?
goku7310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 03:49 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,298
Rewards Points: 31,904
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


Tell me exactly what you did.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 04:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


I didn't do exactly as you told me to because my brain isn't working today but I used the correct black wire you were talking about and it worked! Thanks SO much. But should I just leave the red wire capped like that or does it connect to anything else?
goku7310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 04:51 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,298
Rewards Points: 31,904
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


If everything is working leave it.
There should be another switch since the you posted is a three way. The red could be part of the three way. It appears to be connected to a black.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
goku7310 (11-13-2017)
Old 11-10-2017, 05:39 PM   #8
Member
 
hkstroud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,355
Rewards Points: 6,692
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


.....................
__________________
Harold,
The Left Handed Widget Maker

Last edited by hkstroud; 11-10-2017 at 05:47 PM.
hkstroud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 12:09 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


Thanks A LOT for the help Joe! I left the red wire capped like that. It is a three way switch and the second switch that controls the outlet is literally 5 feet from the first. whoever designed it must have been one lazy individual. one One last question. Since it looks like the three way setup goes through the whole living room, is it possible to make switch 2 control another outlet in the future?
goku7310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 09:16 AM   #10
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,298
Rewards Points: 31,904
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Control outlet with switch


Possibly, but you would probably need run some new cable.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replace switch that control an outlet with an outlet CarsonKT Electrical 5 08-06-2017 03:02 PM
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 6 05-13-2017 04:29 PM
Wall switch to control outlet JustScrewIt Electrical 4 01-18-2016 11:40 AM
Combo light switch outlet re-wire question seasidediy Electrical 3 07-21-2011 05:02 AM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts