Connecting Two Ground Buses. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-30-2010, 07:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Connecting two ground buses.


Hi All,

New member here with what I hope is a quick question. I'm running 100A power to my new shop. It's a four wire unbonded subpanel. I picked up a square D homelite box and it appears there is no way to separate the neutral buses that came with the box. I went ahead and picked up two extra ground buses and have them installed in the box. Is the a proper way to connect the two ground buses together? I had planned on connecting the ground coming in from the main to one of the buses and then running the ground wire the goes the the ground rod through one bus and then over to the other. Is there a better way?

Thanks in advance,

Dave
tgidave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2010, 07:59 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


The add on ground buss just screw into the raised bosses on the back of the enclosure. No need to run any wires between them.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2010, 08:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks, Jim, that what I needed to know. Like I said, I was hoping it was an easy one...

Dave
tgidave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Lost my Ground jodywoj Electrical 10 12-20-2009 06:37 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
12v DC ground to chassis ground of a 120V appliance? pcampbell Electrical 12 02-17-2009 09:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts