Confused On A 3 Prong 230 Plug - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-30-2010, 10:29 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

confused on a 3 prong 230 plug


i bought a hobart female plug to hook up to my power wire that comes out of my breaker box so i can plug my welder up.it has 2 straight one short one long then it has the round one to. ok my wire from the box has 4 wires 1 black/1 white/1 red/1 bare copper ground how do i hook it up to the plug.i guess i need to know what wire goes to the short straight plug and so on. thanks
vinylman70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 10:48 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


You don't need the white wire on a straight 240 Volt welder circuit.

The black and red wires connect to the straight blades on the plug. The green to the round ground pin. No connection for the white.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2010, 11:24 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default


i understand you on that but i dont have a green wire the red and black are connected to the 30a breaker then the copper wire to the ground side where the small screws are then the white on the other side where the small screws are. so instead of connecting the green to the green screw on the round plug would i just connect the copper wire instead since it is the ground. then does it matter what straight has the black or red? then on the white would i just cut it off and not use it. thanks
vinylman70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-31-2010, 07:11 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


What input amperage is this welder?
What size wire is the "power wire that comes out of my breaker box"? And what do you mean by that?

I get the impression that you don't have much experience doing this stuff. Are you absolutely sure what you are doing is right?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 08:48 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default


welder is 25-185 ampers/230volts the wire says 3 color awg8/awg10g 600v my dad is the one who wired everything he does not live here anymore now i have to finish it my self.
vinylman70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 09:00 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vinylman70 View Post
welder is 25-185 ampers/230volts the wire says 3 color awg8/awg10g 600v my dad is the one who wired everything he does not live here anymore now i have to finish it my self.
INPUT amperage. Not output.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 10:05 AM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default


it says max is 31 the power supply is hooked to a 30 amp breaker
vinylman70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:06 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
INPUT amperage. Not output.
Also, it would appear we need to know the input VOLTAGE.

Is it possible to post a picture of the unit's nameplate? This could help immensely.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:17 AM   #9
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 8,731
Rewards Points: 1,536
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by vinylman70 View Post
i understand you on that but i dont have a green wire the red and black are connected to the 30a breaker then the copper wire to the ground side where the small screws are then the white on the other side where the small screws are. so instead of connecting the green to the green screw on the round plug would i just connect the copper wire instead since it is the ground. then does it matter what straight has the black or red? then on the white would i just cut it off and not use it. thanks

Ayuh,... That's Right...

No, it doesn't matter which goes to what side...Each is 110v to make 220v for the welder to work...
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 12:06 AM   #10
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default


the welder is a hobart 187 if that helps the box in the shop is a 200 amp box but i am only running 100amp to it from the house under ground the electrician that will be digging the trench and hooking up the wire at the house and shop is useing only 3 wires of 3 guage alluminum wire. then will be installing grounding rods in the ground from the box at the shop.i went ahead and hooked the black and red wires to the straight plugs and the bare copper wire to the round plug and just cut the white wire so it wont touch any thing and also disconnected the white wire in the box to.also he had the red,black wires hooked to the 30a breaker with the copper wire hooked up as ground this should be right. right ?? thanks
vinylman70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 01:07 PM
changing 3 prong receptacle to 4 prong WendyS Electrical 12 01-17-2010 08:59 PM
Unpolarised US Type 2 Plug to UK Plug. razorcut Electrical 19 05-18-2009 09:49 AM
Microwave ground prong sparks/melts upon plugging it in microwaveman Electrical 30 05-10-2009 10:30 PM
1990 Bounder Motorhome 3 prong outlets actally have no ground connected!! Help! Holering Electrical 5 03-30-2009 12:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts