Conduit Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By MrElectricianTV
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-13-2019, 12:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Conduit Question


Quick question (probably a dumb one)


I wanted to add outlets to my unfinished basement. Block walls, open floor joist, with no plans of ever finishing them.



I plan on running 12/2 (from the breaker box) through the open floor joist, over to the wall, down a vertical piece of conduit then connect it to a handy box


My question is how far from the ceiling does my conduit need to be?



I'm aware that I should use conduit bushings to protect the wire at the open end. I plan on using a GFI outlet.



Thanks
bigben662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2019, 05:34 AM   #2
Member
 
CodeMatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,373
Rewards Points: 6,744
Default

Re: Conduit Question


Your location will likely change the answer. Consider adding that to your profile.

Up here the CEC/OESC requires some form of mechanical protection for NM
cable on surface at heights below 1.5m.

Code ref: 12-518
CodeMatters is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CodeMatters For This Useful Post:
bigben662 (06-13-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2019, 07:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,263
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: Conduit Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben662 View Post
Quick question (probably a dumb one)


I wanted to add outlets to my unfinished basement. Block walls, open floor joist, with no plans of ever finishing them.



I plan on running 12/2 (from the breaker box) through the open floor joist, over to the wall, down a vertical piece of conduit then connect it to a handy box


My question is how far from the ceiling does my conduit need to be?



I'm aware that I should use conduit bushings to protect the wire at the open end. I plan on using a GFI outlet.



Thanks
I do that in my rental properties using plastic conduit running down to a square box. I usually have the conduit run down starting at a point between the 1st floor joists where that is possibke. Where there is a joist directly above where I need to run the conduit, I drop the conduit an inch or so below the joist, and start there.

I am no expert on code, but I believe that all basement receptacles need to be GFCI protected.

Sent from my SM-G530T using Tapatalk

Last edited by jeffmattero76; 06-13-2019 at 08:01 AM.
jeffmattero76 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffmattero76 For This Useful Post:
bigben662 (06-13-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2019, 08:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 1,623
Rewards Points: 3,147
Default

Re: Conduit Question


Corollary: is there a minimum distance from the floor that the conduit needs to be?
huesmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 08:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,263
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Re: Conduit Question


Again, not a code expert, but I don't believe there is any "distance from the floor" requirement in the code.

Sent from my SM-G530T using Tapatalk
jeffmattero76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 09:04 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,035
Rewards Points: 2,076
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Re: Conduit Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben662 View Post
Quick question (probably a dumb one)


I wanted to add outlets to my unfinished basement. Block walls, open floor joist, with no plans of ever finishing them.



I plan on running 12/2 (from the breaker box) through the open floor joist, over to the wall, down a vertical piece of conduit then connect it to a handy box. You should use 4" square boxes.


My question is how far from the ceiling does my conduit need to be? I don't know of any such requirement. I would let it poke above the bottom of the ceiling joist a little.



I'm aware that I should use conduit bushings to protect the wire at the open end. I plan on using a GFI outlet. You need a connector at the entrance of the conduit to prevent the cable from being pulled out. There are EMT to Romex changeover connectors for this.



Thanks
Be sure to get a permit and have the work inspected.
__________________
John Grabowski

MrElectrician.TV
MrElectricianTV is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MrElectricianTV For This Useful Post:
bigben662 (06-13-2019)
Old 06-13-2019, 10:25 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrElectricianTV View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben662 View Post
Quick question (probably a dumb one)


I wanted to add outlets to my unfinished basement. Block walls, open floor joist, with no plans of ever finishing them.



I plan on running 12/2 (from the breaker box) through the open floor joist, over to the wall, down a vertical piece of conduit then connect it to a handy box. You should use 4" square boxes.


My question is how far from the ceiling does my conduit need to be? I don't know of any such requirement. I would let it poke above the bottom of the ceiling joist a little.



I'm aware that I should use conduit bushings to protect the wire at the open end. I plan on using a GFI outlet. You need a connector at the entrance of the conduit to prevent the cable from being pulled out. There are EMT to Romex changeover connectors for this.



Thanks
Be sure to get a permit and have the work inspected.

I'm with you on your all your foot notes except the first one. Is 4" boxes code, or your personal preference?
bigben662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:44 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,035
Rewards Points: 2,076
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Re: Conduit Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben662 View Post
I'm with you on your all your foot notes except the first one. Is 4" boxes code, or your personal preference?
By code 2.25 cubic inches are required for each #12 conductor. A wiring device such as an outlet, switch, or GFCI takes up the space of two conductors. All grounds can be connected and only account for one conductor. So with one 12/2 and a GFCI you need space for at least 5 conductors. So you need at least 11.25 cubic inches. With two 12/2 Romex's you will have 7 conductors (15.75 cubic inches). A clamp inside the box also counts as one conductor. It is also easier to work when you have extra room.

Also, another reason why I suggested 4" square boxes. If you do decide to finish the walls at some time in the future, you can use mud rings to extend out to the finished wall without having to move or change the electrical boxes. You could even use mud rings now without the finished wall.

I tend to use 4" x 4" x 2 1/8" for comfort and room for future wires.
bigben662 likes this.
__________________
John Grabowski

MrElectrician.TV
MrElectricianTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:45 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,150
Rewards Points: 946
Default

Re: Conduit Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigben662 View Post
I'm with you on your all your foot notes except the first one. Is 4" boxes code, or your personal preference?
Not code, but will look much better and give you more room.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
bigben662 (06-13-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
basement code , conduit , wiring , work space


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts