Code Compliant To... - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-23-2010, 12:44 AM   #16
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default


how about fututre expansion/additions?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2010, 06:52 AM   #17
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
how about fututre expansion/additions?
Adding 100A subpanel in 2-car garage with 10 branch circuits. 6/3 addresses ultimate conditions for 110V welder circuit, upgradable to 220V welder, upgradable to 220V oven.

Why 6/3? Might want an oven in the garage for powder-coating.
H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2010, 06:02 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Wow, this conversation deteriorated quickly!!
djlazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2010, 07:02 PM   #19
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlazar View Post
Wow, this conversation deteriorated quickly!!
what deteriated? im just asking questions here
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 08:36 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
I spent 20 years as a commercial electrical contractor before I became an electrical inspector. Please do not lecture me. My thinking was why not run #10 instead of #12 because of the voltage drop then you could continue with #12 if it is only for an outlet.
With all due respect. But if it was existing. It all boils down to Two questions; 1) Is it technically feasible; 2)is it Code compliant: the answer, apparently to both questions is, YES!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rubber hoses - code compliant? daixloxbmw Plumbing 10 01-07-2011 08:15 AM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 07:52 AM
Is this kitchen remodel code compliant? jheavner Electrical 18 10-07-2008 10:01 AM
Keeping Egress Window Code Compliant ClnlBrahm Building & Construction 2 09-11-2008 10:00 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts