Coax Cable - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-26-2018, 07:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 103
Rewards Points: 132
Default

Coax cable


I have an an antenna ouside my house for local tv channels. Then a coax that feeds into one bedroom but no in the bedroom on the otherside. Can i add a splitter to that coax behind the wall and feed it two two rooms and be able to watch different channels?
2Quiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2018, 07:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upper mid-west
Posts: 2,740
Rewards Points: 3,958
Default

Re: Coax cable


If the tuner is after the splitter then yes but keep in mind splitting the signal does lower the strength of it.
stick\shift is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2018, 09:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,864
Rewards Points: 1,728
Default

Re: Coax cable


If you are in a metro area with strong signals you could get away with it. If you are out in the sticks you might need an add-on amplifier.
ChuckF. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2018, 09:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 1,398
Rewards Points: 1,234
Default

Re: Coax cable


Yes but each split drops the signal -3.5dB. If signal is at all marginal with no splitter then this might make it worse.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 11:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,194
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Re: Coax cable


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quiker View Post
I have an an antenna ouside my house for local tv channels. Then a coax that feeds into one bedroom but no in the bedroom on the otherside. Can i add a splitter to that coax behind the wall and feed it two two rooms and be able to watch different channels?
All the previous comments are quite correct.

With most digital TVs there should be a way where you can obtain an indication of the strength and "quality" of the TV signal for each channel.

If these are in the "good" range, you should have no problem with with using a single passive splitter - which splits the incoming signal in "half"
This is at least a 3.1 dB "loss" but, as curiousB mentioned, in practice it may be up to 3.5 dB.

In any event, if the use of a passive splitter causes any problems due to signal loss (which is unlikely if you are now getting a good signal for all channels) you can use an "Amplified Splitter" to "boost" the signal to both TVs.

However, if you are close to any TV transmitter and already receive a strong signal from that transmitter, the use of an amplified splitter may boost the signal so much that it "overloads" the input stage of the TV(s).

While you could put a passive splitter "behind" the wall, I would not recommend it and you certainly should NOT put an amplified splitter "behind the wall".

I suggest that you use appropriate "Keystone" wall plates and Keystone "F" connectors for the (three) co-axial connections that you will need.
FrodoOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Armored cable shell as conduit? sixspeed Electrical 13 10-18-2012 03:45 PM
Electrician best practice questions mudworm Electrical 32 11-12-2011 01:59 PM
Short ciruit with Romex 10/3 cable and cable connectors virago Electrical 21 10-07-2011 08:01 AM
Tracing coax cable Iowaboy Electrical 3 08-30-2011 01:34 PM
Phantom Telephone and Coax cable in new home munir Electrical 6 01-03-2010 11:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts